We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morris House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Morris House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Morris House Hotel combines the hominess and ambience of a bed-and-breakfast with the privacy and service of a typical hotel. Our room was comfortable, roomy and quiet. The complimentary tea, coffee and cookies available each evening were greatly appreciated. We also enjoyed a complimentary glass of wine prior to dinner. Starting our day off with a delicious breakfast eaten by a warm fire was just what the doctor ordered.

We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Morris House and thank you for sharing you great experience of your stay. We are so pleased you remember our nice complimentary tea, coffee, cookies and a glass of wine. We hope we will have an opportunity to greeting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    110
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
60
193
29
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We recently booked four rooms for two nights at Morris House Hotel, two in the main building and two in the carriage house. The hotel is small and charming. If you're walking down 8th Street, the hotel's courtyard looks like a secret garden tucked behind the wrought iron gate. The weather was too cold to sit outside, but our local family members have enjoyed many a glass of wine there in the warmer months. The owners decorated the hotel with period decor and preserved much of its original charm, including fireplaces and floorboards. More practical information: the beds are very comfortable, the showers are hot, and if you need a first floor room, Morris has one in the carriage house that my aunt enjoyed very much. I can't speak highly enough about the people at Morris House and the talent of their chef at next-door M Restaurant. If you're looking for a quiet and welcoming enclave in the heart of Philadelphia, you will adore Morris House.

Room Tip: 101 if you need 1st floor accommodations; 202 in the main house is our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing Morris House and thank you for being our guests. It's our pleasure to have you in Morris House. Thank you for sharing valuable information about Morris House on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind review! We are looking forward to greet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Morris House Hotel mainly because of its proximity to Pennsylvania Hospital where my husband was having surgery. We reserved the extended suite over the restaurant on the street side.The suite was very roomy with nice seating in the living room, small kitchen setup in the living room, a very comfortable bedroom with wonderfully comfortable bed and nice linens, and a large bathroom. The first night we ate at the M Restaurant below our room-definitely a fabulously creative and delicious restaurant. Second night my sisters stayed with me and there was plenty of room for the three of us. Very much like an apartment in the city. The main house is lovely and historic with wonderful ambiance and our building-not as old. Breakfast choices in the lovely library and parlor were nice and the cookies and hot drinks during the day are an added nice touch. All staff we encountered were very friendly, professional and gave suggestions that were helpful.
Only one suggestion-the bathroom needs some updating. Although clean, the shower and bathtub in particular need updating. All in all a great location and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: 401 was reportedly more bright and sunny than some of the other extended suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Sincere thank you for your detailed review and comments of your experience in Morris House. Thank you for pointing out items that can be improved and we certainly will do better. Thank you for staying with us and for ranking us so highly. We hope to greet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This Hotel is just wonderful! It is one of the most charming places I have ever stayed; quiet, beautiful and in one of the best spots in Philly. I can't say enough about the staff, the breakfast, and the beautiful library which is a lovely breakfast spot with yummy pastries and great coffee. Being close to the Reading Terminal Market and the lovely Washington Square area, in addition to all of the historic landmarks, allows one to walk in many different directions.

Room Tip: The room above the restaurant was remarkably quiet and private, just be prepared to walk some steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks on your kind review. We are so pleased you have highlighted the staff, the breakfast and the beautiful library and your great experience in Morris House makes our efforts worthwhile. It will be our honor to greet you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time during our stay at the Morris House Hotel. The classic historic elegance of the home and rooms were fantastic. The common areas warm, and inviting. We truly enjoyed the added touches of the cookies and hot chocolate available in the afternoon and evening as well as the scrumptious breakfast items that were available the next morning. The staff, especially Cara, were sweet, helpful and efficient! We would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in historic classic homes and anyone interested in touring historical Philadelphia!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. Great to hear you overall experience of Morris House during your stay was good. We appreciate that you recommended our hotel to those potential guests who are also interested in historic classic homes! Please feel free to contact us if you decide to come to Morris House again, we would be pleased to assist you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The historic charm of the main house and common areas quickly evaporated when we were ushered into our "large extended suite," which was a long, skinny, one-bedroom apartment decorated 100% with cheap Ikea furnishings. The romantic weekend I had planned for my new love turned into an embarrassment for me. Plus the bathroom sink was clogged. How does that even happen, since the maid has to use the sink to clean it every day?

Room Tip: Do not book the large extended suite unless you like discount Swedish furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are deeply sorry your experience of our hotel was not enjoyable. We take our guests' comments seriously and we will improve on some of the issues you have raised. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to be able to get a chance to greet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Address: 225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morris House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.