We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Philly's Best Kept Secret"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morris House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Morris House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Morris House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Johnston, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Philly's Best Kept Secret"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This Hotel is just wonderful! It is one of the most charming places I have ever stayed; quiet, beautiful and in one of the best spots in Philly. I can't say enough about the staff, the breakfast, and the beautiful library which is a lovely breakfast spot with yummy pastries and great coffee. Being close to the Reading Terminal Market and the lovely Washington Square area, in addition to all of the historic landmarks, allows one to walk in many different directions.

Room Tip: The room above the restaurant was remarkably quiet and private, just be prepared to walk some steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks on your kind review. We are so pleased you have highlighted the staff, the breakfast and the beautiful library and your great experience in Morris House makes our efforts worthwhile. It will be our honor to greet you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    102
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
50
181
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time during our stay at the Morris House Hotel. The classic historic elegance of the home and rooms were fantastic. The common areas warm, and inviting. We truly enjoyed the added touches of the cookies and hot chocolate available in the afternoon and evening as well as the scrumptious breakfast items that were available the next morning. The staff, especially Cara, were sweet, helpful and efficient! We would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in historic classic homes and anyone interested in touring historical Philadelphia!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. Great to hear you overall experience of Morris House during your stay was good. We appreciate that you recommended our hotel to those potential guests who are also interested in historic classic homes! Please feel free to contact us if you decide to come to Morris House again, we would be pleased to assist you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The historic charm of the main house and common areas quickly evaporated when we were ushered into our "large extended suite," which was a long, skinny, one-bedroom apartment decorated 100% with cheap Ikea furnishings. The romantic weekend I had planned for my new love turned into an embarrassment for me. Plus the bathroom sink was clogged. How does that even happen, since the maid has to use the sink to clean it every day?

Room Tip: Do not book the large extended suite unless you like discount Swedish furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are deeply sorry your experience of our hotel was not enjoyable. We take our guests' comments seriously and we will improve on some of the issues you have raised. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to be able to get a chance to greet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

As soon as we walked in the door, it felt like we were taking a step back in time. We were greeted and given a tour of the property. Don't worry about not having an elevator, there aren't very many stairs and the staff will take care of your luggage. We stayed on the third floor in room 302. The whole place felt like you were getting to stay in a museum! Cookies are provided after each maid service and every day at 3:00 (usually cookies are remaining when you get back in the evening) and they are to die for!! There is also a restaurant called the "M" next door and it is delicious. Their menu changes frequently, but everything is great and hotel guests get 10% off their order! The location was fantastic. It's right downtown next to the liberty bell and other museums as well as Jim's Steaks, a famous Cheesesteak eatery. Everything is within walking distance. Can't say enough about this fabulous hotel...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing Morris House and thank you for sharing your experience of staying Morris House. And you are very welcome anytime. It was great to have you as our guests and it will be our honor to greet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at the Morris House Hotel. It was conveniently located across the street from Wills Eye Institute where my husband was having eye surgery. We stayed in a suite which was very roomy and had a kitchenette. Although this is a historic building, the rooms had been nicely updated. We were not in the main building which gave us privacy. The outside door to the building we were in was accessed with a key so it felt secure. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well maintained.

The staff was very accommodating, especially Lowell at the front desk. Room rates were very reasonable and included what was described as a continental breakfast. I expected coffee and a roll but the breakfast selection was very generous as well as diverse. It included quiche, fresh fruit, and a charcuterie as well as the usual cereals and sweet rolls.

Dinner at their restaurant M was fine dining with a lovely atmosphere. I would certainly recommend this hotel and restaurant. I hope to stay here again but this time for a getaway to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your most kind review on Trip advisor and particularly for particularly for praising efforts of our colleague, Lowell, the front desk. Thank you for being our guest and we hope to be able to get a chance to greet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuBois, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Morris House Hotel is one of the most beautiful gems in a prime location in downtown Philadelphia.
The Morris House sits street front at 225 South 8th Street and is only steps away from all the historical tourist attractions.
The staff is extremely attentive and will see to your every need.
Be aware, there is no elevator, but the staff will carry your bags to the most gorgeous room to which you have been booked.
Walbert and Lowell were especially helpful during my stay at the hotel.
The rooms are amazing. Mine was not in the main house, but just a few steps across the beautiful bricked courtyard. I had a gorgeous bedroom and a sitting room that overlooked the city. The bathrooms are so spacious and beautifully done with tiled floors, tons of counterspace for your makeup bag, etc.
Everything was pristine clean and guess what!? You get homemade ginger cookies on your pillow everyday.
The breakfast is amazing. Everything made in the hotel kitchen which includes a beautiful Quiche, lovely cheeses, fresh fruit, homemade pastries, breads and homemade jellies, honey...and herbal teas.
There are so many lovely restaurants near the hotel...be sure to ask the concierge their suggestions for an unforgetable dinner.
The Wilkes Eye Institute is right across the street and the Pennsylvania Hospital is a couple blocks away and around the corner on Pine Street.
You will find upscale shopping just steps away from the hotel and don't miss out on dinner at Talula's Garden right behind the hotel.
I cannot recommend this gorgeous hotel enough!

Room Tip: I had no issues at all and my room was above the restaurant. I heard nothing at night once I was in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review on Trip advisor. Great to hear your overall experience of Morris House during your stay was good. Thank you for being our guest and sharing your positive experience of Morris House with other Trip advisor readers. We hope we will have the pleasure of greeting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia
Address: 225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morris House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.