We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again in a heartbeat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morris House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Morris House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Would stay here again in a heartbeat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Built in 1787, the Morris House Inn is a delightful historic property in the Washington Square district of Philadelphia. It has 15 rooms in two buildings, the main house and an annex where M Restaurant is located (hotel guests get 10% off their restaurant bill). We stayed in Room 402, directly above the restaurant and facing the courtyard. It is described as a Large Extended Suite and includes a small kitchen, sitting area with foldout couch and bedroom with a luxurious queen-sized bed. The sleekly modern bathroom has a Jacuzzi tub and separate shower, and is appointed with thoughtful amenities like bath salts and makeup remover wipes.

Lowell greeted us warmly upon our arrival and gave us a tour of the facilities, offering to provide assistance in any way he could. I subsequently emailed him a spreadsheet listing all the attractions we intended to see, not once but twice, and he printed it for me.

One of the first things we encountered when we checked in was afternoon tea featuring three kinds of homemade cookies. The chocolate chip were described by my son thusly: "A land of chocolate exploded in my mouth. BEST... COOKIE... EVER!" The ginger cookies were also very good, and are a novel alternative to the usual nightly chocolates on the pillow. A pitcher of hot chocolate was available along with the usual envelopes. In a detail I found particularly thoughtful, half and half was provided in addition to yucky Coffee Mate. The Inn has Keurigs both in the common area and in the rooms, so if you have a particular favorite you might want to bring some K-cups from home. Then again, the brewed coffee at breakfast is absolutely heavenly!

Speaking of breakfast, it's included and served from 7 to 10am each morning in the warm, light-filled dining room/library. I would call it enhanced continental as it's more than just pastries, and everything is house-made. Offerings also include excellent granola, salami, sliced cheese, quiche and fruit. When we arrived at 9:30, Lowell encouraged us to let him know if anything needed replenishing.

We were in Philadelphia at one of the worst possible times weather-wise, with bone-chilling cold and sleet. The location of the Morris House allowed us to visit Washington Square, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, the National Constitution Center and the U.S. Mint on foot with minimal inconvenience and discomfort.

One of the great things about the Morris House is that it is a historic property but with plenty of modern conveniences, most notably the Wi-Fi. This is a must-have for us as my son is all about the technology. He really loved the room's iHome dock as well.

Drawbacks here are minor. Our suite's bathroom was adjacent to its front door, with the kitchen, living area and bedroom following in that order. Therefore you must pass through the living area if you're going to the bathroom from the bedroom. If there is someone in the sleep sofa that's a light sleeper, this can be a problem, especially since the wood floors squeak. Also, there is no parking on site, although a discount is available at the garage across the street. Evenings can be a little loud if you're atop the restaurant, but the noise is typically done by 10:30. Finally, there is no elevator, but the staff happily assists with luggage so it's not a big deal if you're capable of climbing stairs.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you on your kind review. We appreciate you would like to stay with us again. It makes all our hard work and effort worthwhile and we hope we will have chance to greet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    110
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
60
196
29
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The Morris House Hotel is quaint, clean and has a warm, historic vibe the minute you walk through the door.
We stayed two nights in Room 401, directly above the restaurant, and the room was set up like a large one bedroom apartment.
Our only slight complaint is noise.
The train runs underground and you can definitely feel and hear it when it passes. Also walls are thin and we could hear people above our room and in the hall. However, a little noise is a sacrifice worth making to absorb the charm and beauty of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your experience online and we are truly sorry for the noise you heard during your stay. We hope we will have an opportunity to greet you again and provide you a great accommodation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

So beautifully restored you can't tell it has been restored. Beautiful touches all over the hotel, it's like walking back into the 18th century. Cordial, articulate, thoughtful staff. Delicious menu. Don't miss the chance to experience history!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
A sincere thank you on a great review. Thank you for taking time to share it online. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to greeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very charming, small hotel in a very good location. Room was warm, very clean and nicely furnished...overlooking the cobbled interior courtyard. Very quiet...no street noise. Really comfortable common area sitting room and breakfast rooms - with beautiful old fireplaces. Staff very nice, professional and helpful. Will definitely stay there next time we travel to Philly. Would highly recommend the Morris House. Exceptional value!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your great review and we are happy you have enjoyed your stay in Morris House. We really appreciate you would like to recommend us to other Trip advisor readers and will stay with us when you travel to Philadelphia again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Everything is great: the room we were in for the 3 nights, the breakfasts whe took in the library of house with a big chimney fire. The hosts who were knowledgeable about the history of the house and make us feeling like being home. Plus of course the location. We walked everywhere: restaurant, shopping, museums etc. We were in Philadelphia and we were able to enjoy its architecture and Philly life (night and day).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your great review. We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us for three nights. Thank you for pointing out our nice library, breakfast, and great location and share these information with other Tripadvisor readers. We appreciate your kind review and look forward to greet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were in town for the marathon and stayed one night at the hotel. The room was very large and comfortable with a four poster bed, sofa and a side table with chairs as well as a sizable bathroom. Since some of the patrons were running the marathon or half-marathon and leaving the hotel before breakfast was served, the hotel set up a light breakfast early. The home baked bread was delicious. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. We got used the the room shaking every 30 minutes when the subway came by - it did not disturb our sleep - in a funny way it added to the experience. We would definitely stay at this charming historic hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind review and for taking time to share your positive experience of your stay in Morris House. We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay in Morris House. We feel sorry about subway noise and appreciate your kind review! We are looking forward to greet you again when you visit Philadelphia someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I was in town for the marathon and couldn't find a hotel. While it was not my first choice, this Morris House turned out to be quite a find. Good location, fantastic cozy rooms, friendly and accommodating service...and a surprisingly good on site restaurant. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Sincere thank you on your kind review. Thank you for finding us and pointing out we are a cozy, friendly historic B&B. We hope to greet you again in the future! You are very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Address: 225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morris House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.