We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, historic small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Morris House Hotel to your Saves list
Morris House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great, historic small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very charming, small hotel in a very good location. Room was warm, very clean and nicely furnished...overlooking the cobbled interior courtyard. Very quiet...no street noise. Really comfortable common area sitting room and breakfast rooms - with beautiful old fireplaces. Staff very nice, professional and helpful. Will definitely stay there next time we travel to Philly. Would highly recommend the Morris House. Exceptional value!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your great review and we are happy you have enjoyed your stay in Morris House. We really appreciate you would like to recommend us to other Trip advisor readers and will stay with us when you travel to Philadelphia again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    114
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
61
199
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Everything is great: the room we were in for the 3 nights, the breakfasts whe took in the library of house with a big chimney fire. The hosts who were knowledgeable about the history of the house and make us feeling like being home. Plus of course the location. We walked everywhere: restaurant, shopping, museums etc. We were in Philadelphia and we were able to enjoy its architecture and Philly life (night and day).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your great review. We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us for three nights. Thank you for pointing out our nice library, breakfast, and great location and share these information with other Tripadvisor readers. We appreciate your kind review and look forward to greet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were in town for the marathon and stayed one night at the hotel. The room was very large and comfortable with a four poster bed, sofa and a side table with chairs as well as a sizable bathroom. Since some of the patrons were running the marathon or half-marathon and leaving the hotel before breakfast was served, the hotel set up a light breakfast early. The home baked bread was delicious. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. We got used the the room shaking every 30 minutes when the subway came by - it did not disturb our sleep - in a funny way it added to the experience. We would definitely stay at this charming historic hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind review and for taking time to share your positive experience of your stay in Morris House. We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay in Morris House. We feel sorry about subway noise and appreciate your kind review! We are looking forward to greet you again when you visit Philadelphia someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I was in town for the marathon and couldn't find a hotel. While it was not my first choice, this Morris House turned out to be quite a find. Good location, fantastic cozy rooms, friendly and accommodating service...and a surprisingly good on site restaurant. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Sincere thank you on your kind review. Thank you for finding us and pointing out we are a cozy, friendly historic B&B. We hope to greet you again in the future! You are very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at this small hotel! The room was gorgeous, complete with fireplace, built-in bookshelves, and solid wood floors! The furniture complemented the room nicely. The homemade breakfast was scrumptious; I really felt like I was visiting rich relatives! The personnel were super nice and helpful as well. I couldn't recommend this hotel more! Love!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind review and for praising our nice furniture, homemade breakfast, and helpful personnel. Great to hear you have enjoyed your stay in Morris House and thank you for recommending our hotel. We are looking forward to greet you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I absolutely loved my stay at the Morris House Hotel! It was beautiful. The staff were amazing; very welcoming and warm. The courtyard was a really nice touch. The rooms were awesome! They were exceptionally clean and cozy. It made you feel like home away from home but you still felt like you were on vacation. I loved the unique historic structure and amenities. I would definitely stay at Morris House again and would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Any room you stay in will be a pleasant experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your awesome review and for sharing your positive experience in Morris House on Trip Advisor. Thank you for recommending us to your friend and family. We really appreciate your kind review. We are looking forward to greet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When my mother came to visit me in Philadelphia she was amazed by Morris House Hotel. She said it was so pleasant to stay there and could not stop talking about how friendly and helpful everyone who worked there was! She loved her room and all the benefits that came with staying right in downtown Philadelphia, and said that it was an urban oasis, just like the website had promised. My mom lives in a very private area and was amazed by how peaceful she found sitting in the courtyard drinking coffee in the afternoon. Ever since my mom stayed at Morris House Hotel I have recommended it to everyone to stay there. It's quaint and historical just like the city of Philadelphia and perfect for anyone who wants to be in the city but still be able to have peace and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisHouseHotel, General Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your amazing review. We glad your mother has enjoyed her stay in Morris House. Thank her for praising our friendly staff, courtyard and nice room. We are looking forward to greet you and your mother again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Address: 225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morris House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.