We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fado Irish Pub

Fado Irish Pub
1500 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19102 (City Center West)
215-893-9700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fado Irish Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #119 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Center West
Loughton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We used this pub to watch the football while on holiday in Philly. It serves a lovely pint of Guiness and the breakfasts are large and good value. Staff are friendly and a great atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, NJ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great find.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We found this place by accident. The food was good and so was the service. Everything cook perfectly. I liked that you could sit where you wanted. Had some true Irish food on menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Following a recommendation, a group of us walked to the Fado Irish Pub for a celebration dinner after my niece's graduation from the Philadelphia Art Institute, and were pleasantly surprised. It's very authentic looking with all the wood and little alcoves, and of course sparsely lit, as most real pubs are. But what impressed us was the unique, different, and absolutely delicious food! We started out with an appetizer of flattened, triangular shaped potatoe wedges and a cheese dip that was out of this world. Then I personally had the fish tacos and an order of the thick "chips" ( french fries ) with Harp lager cheese and bacon on top and both were scrumptious. Others in our party had the mac and cheese, chicken wings, cheeseburgers with a fabulous side of coleslaw that was really different and more like a cabbage salad, corned beef that was very tender, and delicious grilled chicken and bacon on flatbread. Everything was well prepared and very tasty and was served fairly quickly. If we had any complaints it would only be that our waitress took some time before taking our orders, and again at the end took a long time before bringing our checks and collecting our money. But in all fairness it did seem as though she was waiting on several others besides us so was probably doing the best she could. If you're ever in Philly and want a great place to eat do give this place a try. Wish we had one closer to where I live!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Trythe cheese puffs and pork belly for appetizer.the meal was appetizing and the service was great.Stephanie and Darryl were entertaining beyond belief. Not only that but they served our little pup Gromit out on the patio after carding him. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A little bit of Ireland.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit. My daughter tried lamb for the first time and loved it. I had a corned beef and cabbage sandwich on flatbread which was delicious. If you like the pub atmosphere and want good Irish food. this is the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fado Irish Pub also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Fado Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fado Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.