We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise with an excellent breakfast...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Philadelphia to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Philadelphia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant surprise with an excellent breakfast...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

What a pleasant surprise...this Homewood Suites had (exceptionally) large, clean suites with a morning breakfast that was the best I ever experienced (and I'm a Gold Marriott member and Silver HHonors one). A convenient location, since it's out of center city but a short cab ride away to everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    125
    33
    16
    9
See reviews for
153
69
25
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

last minute booking brought us to the Homewood suites, was shocked at the modern decor and while we had planned to visit the Steakhouse in the adjoining hotel, we were enticed to enjoy the Complimentary beer/wine and FULL DINNER...pour and feed yourself! What delicious deal!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, Usa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stay here once a month for work. The reason I stay here is because the location is good and the room size is above average. I like that there is a kitchen in the room so I can make breakfast in the morning. It's fairly clean but not luxurious. The front desk staff are most often very friendly and accommodating. On the downside, they charge for parking ($5) which is down the street in an open lot which is not so secure. If you want to workout, you have to walk next door to the HIlton Hotel which is not ideal. I think if you are traveling with family (lots of kids) this is a good place to stay. So on balance, I'd could recommend this hotel if you need to be in this location and want a larger than average room but if you want finer quality digs, check out other hotels in the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Crolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with our two grandsons. Having two bedrooms and two bathrooms helped with getting out in the morning. The staff was always friendly and helpful.

The breakfasts had a variety of foods. The one shortcoming was waiting to use the waffle iron. A second would move the line quicker - good when you're trying to feed children.
The dinners were usually good, although one night they ran out of chicken just as we were getting ready to eat.

It was nice not to have to go out for dinner after shepherding two kids around Philly all day.

One shortcoming was the lack of a table next to the sofa and stuffed chair to set down a drink or coffee. There was a coffee table by the sofa, but every time you wanted a sip, you had to stop reading to lean forward to pick up your drink and set it back down. A small item perhaps, but it became more noticeable after a few days.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stay at this hotel everytime I come to the Philadelphia, PA area. Great value for your money. Friendly staff... excellent breakfast and dinner... and wine and beer in the evenings are included with the price of the hotel. Big bang for your buck!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Always loved Philly and now our son is at Temple U so we are visiting more often. Nice to have a room that is like home where we can all hang out and save money on meals. Have used Homewood in the past in several locations and never disappointed. Lovely and clean accommodations, friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have booked this hotel based on the past experience in Aug'13 which was awesome but in Jan'14 to Feb'14, i found the quality of services has been decreased a lot which management need to look upon. I liked the way we have treated by reception people (Robert and Tony) as both of them are awesome in people interection.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Philadelphia

Address: 4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Philadelphia 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Philadelphia - City Ave Hotel Philadelphia
Homewood Philadelphia
Philadelphia Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.