We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Philadelphia to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Philadelphia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Powhatan, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed for three nights for US Open. Very convenient for that and we liked that there was direct access to the next door Hilton Delmonico's restaurant, through 2nd floor. Rooms clean and comfortable and very helpful staff. Front desk went above and beyond to print stuff out. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    125
    33
    16
    9
See reviews for
153
69
25
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowndesboro, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the time you walk in the door til the time you walk out, you will feel at home by the efficiency and kindness of the employees and the excellent clean, quiet,and comfortable rooms. I love the "Welcome Home" the desk staff tells me when I enter after a stressful day. This is my 3rd or 4th stay and every time it's the same, so it does fell like a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

arrived at 11pm, lady at front desk met us with the dullest look there can possibly be. No smile, no greetings. I know it's late and I looked no better, but then, that's why I do not work night shifts.
Room was clean, carpet new, no smell of smoking, quiet...I was happy about that...but there were little things like...the foot towel on the bathtub was soaking wet...the bed was made improperly, list of TV channels was outdated, elevator is old, all scuffed up and covered in dings...I felt like I'm at Holiday Inn, this Homewodd Suites is no comparison to the nice ones I stayed a lot at in California.
Next morning though there were different people at the fron desk, and they were wonderful! big smile, standard phrases such as "Good morning, sir!" all made me happy.
Breakfasts were fine, with exception of scrambled eggs with pieces of beef in it, I've never seen it before, and my indian girlfriend didn't appreciate it...tasted very bland too... but free food, good enough:)

When checking out, there was nobody at the front desk for 10-15 min...maybe the lady stepped out to the bathroom, I understand, but that's why other hotels have 2 people at the front desk.

Overall, if I had a choice for that price, I'd definitely try another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The staff at Homewood suites was outstanding. Toni, at the front desk made me feel welcome, always saying hello and asking about my granddaughter who was at Shriners Children's Hosp. The breakfasts were as good as any I have had at a hotel breakfast bar. The Mon - Thur Managers dinners were surprisingly tasty. I wish I could have enjoyed them every night.but missed a few. We stayed for 9 nights and were well pleased. The location is good, close enough to downtown and the hospital but not so much as to be caught in traffic everyday. The only problem is parking. There is street parking if you can find a space and a lot that is across and down the block which is $5 a day no matter how many times you enter. Not too bad for a city based hotel. Ad=ll in all a very satisfactory stay. I will return next time I am in Philly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Can be a good value.
In same building as a Hilton, the Homewood Suites rooms are newer and nicer.
Typical Homewood Suite room amenities.
Free breakfast and manager's reception dinner Mon-Thur.
Room AC worked well.
Adequate desk chair.
Plenty of hot water.
Only wired Internet in rooms!
Only a few HD TV channels .
$5 parking is in a lot inconveniently located across and down the street.
Room clock an hour ahead - no way to change it.
Rooms are nicer than those of the Hilton in the same building.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

we stayed at this property while visting Comic Convention in downtown Philly . I can't even begin how awesome the staff was , greeting you in the door and talking about your day really did make you feel welcome Bob the Gm was my talk buddy for two days , when I needed more towels they had them at my door in 5 minutes , breakfast was great as well and staff kept up with large demand from the graduation customers that were at the hotel that weekend , close to downtown and very easy parking , if you stay remember its behind the main hilton . would definatly stay there again .

Room Tip: All rooms are fine bring food you have full kitchen .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have stayed at the Homewood Suites several times, it is always clean, comfort and the locations is great. I will continue to use and recommend anyone who needs a home away from home to stay at the Homwwood Suits.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Philadelphia

Address: 4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Philadelphia 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Philadelphia - City Ave Hotel Philadelphia
Homewood Philadelphia
Philadelphia Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.