We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 star service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Philadelphia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #18 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“6 star service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week, and the staff made me feel like i was a millionaire walking into my mansion. By the third day even the house keepers were saying good morning and good afternoon and addressing me by my first name. When a letter i was expecting was not at the front desk, staff member Toni promised me when i returned in the afternoon she would have located it. As promised the letter was on my table when i returned in the afternoon. This stay was by far the best hotel staff service i have experienced in my 6 years of travelling worldwide. If there was a 6th star option this hotel would rate it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and if there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    105
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
127
54
22
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My Daughter attends St Josephs University which is within a mile of the hotel. My wife and I stay over for games and other school events. We always have a great stay and look forward to going everytime. There are other options in the area but none compare.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. Again, I thank you for your review and if there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel and General Manager Robert McDevitt deserve 5 stars for their gracious hospitality and excellent accommodations. Manager Robert McDevitt is friendly and helpful, and goes to great lengths to ensure guests are comfortable. There is free, delicious food (the chicken parm spread was impressive!), and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Thanks for a wonderful experience! I definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share kind words and your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A good location, friendly staff, clean rooms and good value with breakfast and dinner included for most weekdays which is a substantial savings over the adjacent Hilton with comparable or in some cases better rooms. Coffee always available. A major discomfort is the lack of wifi in the rooms and poor reception in the lobby even for cell phones.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

A third party chose this hotel for us, so we didn't know what to expect. It was such a pleasant surprise. First of all, it was extremely clean-the only issue I had was with a pan in our kitchenette. Every other pan, dish, and utensil was spotless. One skillet was a bit gross. I called Guest Services and they replaced it immediately.

The room was fresh and the linens were also extremely fresh and clean. We have a great view of the city skyline too :')

While we stayed here, a fire alarm went off. While I hate being awakened at 4 a.m., I was glad that their fire and evacuation system was intact. Everyone was informed and they took care of the issue.

Overall, I would recommend Homewood Suites. I plan on visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. I do apologize for the pan as well as the fire alarm. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I understand some people are frustrated with having no wifi internet service in the rooms. This is something pretty standard in 2013. But for my laptop, the hard-line internet worked great. There are several factors that really blew us away at this hotel: 1. Service is amazing. Everyone always making nice comments and asking if they can help you out in any way. This was rare service. 2. The rooms are extremely large, clean and well maintained. 3. VALUE - with our AAA discount we only paid 160/ night for a two room suit. This was great to have our child in the other room (with pack and play) and us in the bedroom. 4. Breakfast is fantastic. We've stayed at homewood suites before, and this was the best breakfast for quality and selection we've every had. 5. Amenities, by virtue of being connected to the Hilton next door. You can access the Hilton's pool, fitness center, lounge/bar and steakhouse.
I would recommend this hotel for both family or business trips. The parking is not problem. Free on the street, Valet ($10) or self-parking ($5) are all good options.

Room Tip: The Suites with two separate rooms - living and bedroom - were fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I will pass on your comments to the staff. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Poor parking and no wifi in the rooms. I carry a tablet for email and Web access instead of a laptop on short business trips. No Wifi in the room put me out of business after my late arrival. Unless you find a parking spot on the street in front of the hotel - the parking garage is far away.
This is my first negative experience at a Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. I apologize that you had some issues while staying at our hotel. I understand from your review that you were inconvenienced by not having WiFi available in your room and that you found our parking to be inaccessible. I sincerely apologize if this may have caused you any inconveniences and I assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our property. Our main priority is for our guests to experience an exceptional stay with us and I regret that we were not able to deliver this to you.

Again, I thank you for your review and if there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Philadelphia

Address: 4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Philadelphia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Philadelphia - City Ave Hotel Philadelphia
Homewood Philadelphia
Philadelphia Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.