We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit, not disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Philadelphia to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Philadelphia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Second visit, not disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Return visit to the area and stayed here again due to great experience last time. Not disappointed. Friendly helpful staff greet you every morning, every meal, on return to the hotel. Good breakfast and evening reception. Convenient to shopping and restaurants. Next door to Phil College of Osteopathic Medicine, perfect location if visiting PCOM. Nice one bedroom suite with views in three directions. Full size refrigerator. Clean and well maintained. A very positive change has been made to the parking arrangements, or I did not know about it last time. You now get your ticket stamped at the front desk and you only get charged once a day for parking instead of with each exit on my previous stay. Only $5 so this is a nice welcome change. Internet still requires cable in the room but it works fine unless you only have an iPad. Still a great place and one I will use again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    114
    29
    14
    9
See reviews for
138
60
23
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was the first time and I was so glad I did. Everyone was so nice and friendly! The room was so clean and the bed slept so, so good. I'm going to return for another stay! Again, all I can say is Yeah!!! great price, exellent customer service etc.....I hope that everyone will stay here so that you can experience what I did!

Terry

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The front desk clerk, Toni, went above and beyond to insure outstanding service. I arrived after their dinner service had closed, Toni made a point of making sure I was served as she personally went into the kitchen, got my food and had it served along with a glass of wine. Comfortable room and great staff. First time staying at this property, and I will be back. Manager, Robert McDevitt was also very attentive and accommodating.

Room Tip: 9th floor, facing SE, has a great view of downtown Philadelphia, especially at sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. I will pass on the kind words to Toni. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I travel a lot to the Philadelphia PA region and have stayed at many Hotels. This Hotel rises above the rest because of the staff and manager Robert McDevitt . At the front desk you have Jacqui, Toni, and Vanessa who always welcomed me home by my first name. The front desk is very friendly and prompt to attend to matters at hand. The rooms are very clean and accomodating. The service staff is very responsive if you have a problem. The chef is top notch with weekly meals that compare or exceed local restaurant offerings. The kitchen staff such as Agnes and Marianna are very personable, friendly, and eager to wait on you. Parking is streetside or excellent prompt valet next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Jacquai was awesome and so was all the staff- they made us feel so welcomed! The room was very clean, the sheets were bleach white and beds were so soft! Plenty of towels and Bath and Body works shampoos and conditioner, The pool was small and breakfast was cold and inconvenient but the staff and cleanliness made this hotel well worth it!

Room Tip: We got the suite, so we had a bedroom that was off to the side and separate from the other bed and k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Earlier reviews, particularly kudos for the desk, won our business for a one week visit back home. Toni is a guest travelers dream-come-true, always seems to be there all hours, solves problems, and has the cheeriest smile and warm greeting by name. The room was comfortable. We had some maintenance issues our first morning which Toni and their maintenance man solved on short notice by 8:30 AM.

The location is terrific, 20 minutes to downtown, Ardmore, Chestnut Hill in off-peak traffic. Parking is convenient. The room was comfy enough, good desk chair, plenty of drawers and outlets, a full sized fridge, microwave, 2 burner electric stove. Second floor connects to Hilton next door for ballrooms, bar and coffee shop. Only drawback...they don't have wireless internet in the room, and the ethernet cable hookup was very slow in the evenings, especially on the weekend.

Room Tip: Room facing East have great view of Center City in distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Rooms were beautiful, well-equipped with full-size refrigerator, microwave oven, and coffee maker, plus dishes, glass, cups, cutlery, cutting and serving tools, and pots and pans. Huge LG HDTV, exceedingly comfortable king-size bed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Decent exercise room at attached Hilton, with TV-equipped treadmills and elliptical, and weights. Good buffet-style breakfast included, and weekday dinners with single, tasty entree, vegetable, fruit, and with salad bar with several vegetable add-ons. Excellent value with AAA discount.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Philadelphia

Address: 4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Philadelphia 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Philadelphia - City Ave Hotel Philadelphia
Homewood Philadelphia
Philadelphia Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.