We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites Philadelphia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
“My Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I travel a lot to the Philadelphia PA region and have stayed at many Hotels. This Hotel rises above the rest because of the staff and manager Robert McDevitt . At the front desk you have Jacqui, Toni, and Vanessa who always welcomed me home by my first name. The front desk is very friendly and prompt to attend to matters at hand. The rooms are very clean and accomodating. The service staff is very responsive if you have a problem. The chef is top notch with weekly meals that compare or exceed local restaurant offerings. The kitchen staff such as Agnes and Marianna are very personable, friendly, and eager to wait on you. Parking is streetside or excellent prompt valet next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    105
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
129
55
22
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Jacquai was awesome and so was all the staff- they made us feel so welcomed! The room was very clean, the sheets were bleach white and beds were so soft! Plenty of towels and Bath and Body works shampoos and conditioner, The pool was small and breakfast was cold and inconvenient but the staff and cleanliness made this hotel well worth it!

Room Tip: We got the suite, so we had a bedroom that was off to the side and separate from the other bed and k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Earlier reviews, particularly kudos for the desk, won our business for a one week visit back home. Toni is a guest travelers dream-come-true, always seems to be there all hours, solves problems, and has the cheeriest smile and warm greeting by name. The room was comfortable. We had some maintenance issues our first morning which Toni and their maintenance man solved on short notice by 8:30 AM.

The location is terrific, 20 minutes to downtown, Ardmore, Chestnut Hill in off-peak traffic. Parking is convenient. The room was comfy enough, good desk chair, plenty of drawers and outlets, a full sized fridge, microwave, 2 burner electric stove. Second floor connects to Hilton next door for ballrooms, bar and coffee shop. Only drawback...they don't have wireless internet in the room, and the ethernet cable hookup was very slow in the evenings, especially on the weekend.

Room Tip: Room facing East have great view of Center City in distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Rooms were beautiful, well-equipped with full-size refrigerator, microwave oven, and coffee maker, plus dishes, glass, cups, cutlery, cutting and serving tools, and pots and pans. Huge LG HDTV, exceedingly comfortable king-size bed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Decent exercise room at attached Hilton, with TV-equipped treadmills and elliptical, and weights. Good buffet-style breakfast included, and weekday dinners with single, tasty entree, vegetable, fruit, and with salad bar with several vegetable add-ons. Excellent value with AAA discount.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Remarkable-- a serendipity find in Philly. From the first moment with the front desk staff, the spacious yet comfy room, and included meals-- what a remarkable place. Everyone was helpful, the room had everything for a comfortable stay-- even a ceiling fan- how did they know? The staff was stellar, going out of the way to provide helpful directions and provide a hearty welcome and support during the stay. Full breakfast, and a tasty dinner. What a concept! This is definitely "Hotel Possible!"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, PA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

When my parents visit Philadelphia they always stay at this Homewood Suites. After my last stay, I know why they do.

After Sandy, like many people, we were without power. I had booked a long stay at the Homewood Suites just in case this occurred and was very glad I proactively made the reservation. I have to admit I expected the place to be swamped, not get the room I wanted and totally didn't expect to get all the normal HHonors treatment. I was pleasantly surprised that this was an overall excellent stay.

I called in the morning to see when we could check in and Toni was super helpful. She let me know our room was ready, power was on and we could head over any time. When we arrived Toni remembered me from the phone and got us checked in quickly. I even had my room preferences honored and my amenities waiting for me. The room was a pretty normal Homewood Suites studio room. Everything was very clean and the kitchen was fully stocked with all the pots, pans and accessories we might need.

The hotel also offers use of the next door Hilton's pool and gym facilities. The pool was being used by a bunch of happy kids and the gym was pretty nice as well. The weekday dinners offered at Homewood Suites are always nice and it was great to be able to have a few beers and a hot meal without leaving.

Upon checkout Toni was super friendly and we had no problem cancelling the extra days I had booked in case it took longer to get our power back.

The staff at this hotel really do a great job of keeping the place running smoothly and making all their guests comfortable. If you don't mind being a bit further from downtown or want to be out closely to the suburbs, this hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I spend over 150 nights on the road and this is one of my favorite places to stay. I stayed at the Homewood Suites City Avenue for 5 nights in October 2012 and found it to be an excellent hotel and good value for the area when you consider all that you get. The rooms are much larger than your typical hotel room with a kitchen area, a place to eat and separate area to relax or work. The rooms are quiet and comfortable and no noise from the street or neighbors. The exercise facility is nice (3 treadmills, 2 elliptical, bike & some free weights) and an indoor pool which is shared with the adjoining Hilton Hotel. The hot breakfast and free weekday dinners were excellent and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful……always there with a smile and a warm welcome home upon entry. The only negative comment is that I couldn't get wifi in my room and the wired internet connection can be a bit slow. I'm already looking forward to my visit next month.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the city skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Homewood Suites Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites-Philadelphia City Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Philadelphia

Address: 4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Philadelphia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Philadelphia - City Ave Hotel Philadelphia
Homewood Philadelphia
Philadelphia Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.