We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to Radisson Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sheep Pub

Black Sheep Pub
247 S 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6314 (City Center West)
215-545-9473
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #262 of 3,780 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Center West
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“close to Radisson Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

a good neighborhood bar with friendly bartenders and waitresses. We ate and drank there twice we we stayed at the Radisson and would reccomend going there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“service was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Food and drinks were average but the service was very friendly. We came with a very large group and the bartender was helpful, even rearranged tables for us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best burgers and cod fish and draft beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

we wandered in after staying downtown and found this cozy, quaint establishment. The staff was nice and very freindly. We enjoyed chatting with them. I ordered the burger with goat cheese and my husband the cod fish along with salads and fries, tarter sauce was excellent. So much food and so good. We washed it down with draft beers. Everything was smooth and and fast. Nice pub Id recommend to anyone!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

smashing pub/restaurant. food was great, we had new york strip steaks, but sneaking a look at other plates it all looked good! they serve plenty of draft beers which I think change regularly.the staff were good and very quick and efficient. give it a try.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valann38
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great warm and inviting pub in the heart of Philly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Found this great local place walking on a drizzly e ending downtown. Stepped inside and the atmosphere was magical. Cozy and inviting. Food was exceptional. We had the cod sandwich at the recommendation of the waiter and we were not disappointed. Great that you have a choice of salad or fries. The cod sandwich was fantastic with a wonderful tasty slaw with jalapeños. The salad was above my expectations and the fries were fresh cut and crunchy with a dipping sauce that we spicy and delicious. Great selection of drafts as most pubs in Philly offer. Don't pass this great restaurant by. It is a wonderful place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep Pub also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Black Sheep Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Sheep Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.