We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bloody Mary ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal Tavern
937 E Passyunk Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19147 (Bella Vista / Queen Village)
215-389-6694
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #298 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
wales, uk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Bloody Mary ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Saturday brunch here for the second time last week. As excellent as the first time. Don't be fooled by the exterior!
My wife and I agreed this was the best Bloody Mary we had ever had. And she's tried a few!!!
I went for the huevos rancheros and my wife had seitan tacos. Both really good. My favourite brunch place in Philly

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Delaware
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best fries ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Looks like a hole in the wall but don't be fooled. The food is awesome. And if you are a hipster you'll fit right in! Get the fries.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Vegan Friendly & Best Burgers for Carnivores Too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Ate here with a mixture of family who are both vegan and meat eaters-there is something on the menu for everyone and everyone enjoyed their meal. The Angus Burger was excellent. Best burger I have had in a long time. The Vegan's in the group enjoyed their meal as well and they had been here before and told us about it. Nice Brunch selection. Great Bloody Mary's and the beer selection is huge. The atmosphere is very relaxed, a little on the louder side but not too bad, nice bar, friendly staff, mixture of local and tourists. Left very satisfied. Definitely some place I would make a point to go back to again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went to dinner here with a couple friends and thoroughly enjoyed the Angus burger on the menu. The beer selection was good and not overwhelmingly large. My only issue was that the service was kind of slow. If you want to hang out and listen to some loud rock music (not too loud to talk) have some good pub food and beer, this place is it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Ended up here after a liquor free lunch. Excellent variety of local and exotic draft beers. Bartender was efficient and friendly. Food looked great, but we were full. This is a must stop place for me.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Tavern also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Royal Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.