We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palm

The Palm
200 S Broad St, Philadelphia, PA 19102
(215) 546-7256
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Palm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #582 of 3,780 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Walnut
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I went for lunch and it was pretty dead; not much if a happening scene but at least we got a table pretty quickly!

We had one of the salads (sorry forgot!) and it was good...

We shared a filet and strip for lunch and the steaks were perfectly cooked and very well seasoned. Obviously they know steak. They did it right.

My friend who LOVES the Palm in NYC wasn't overly impressed with the one in Philly but maybe that's a New Yorker thing :)

Overall, good steak but honestly not a fan of the decor...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    35
    24
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Love this restaurant, excellent service, food is fantastic and like to eat here every couple of months. My standard order is Caesar salad with extra anchovies, filet, cooked rare, mashed potatoes with a demi glaze gravy and finished with a flourless chocolate cake.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's still one of my favorite places to go in Philadelphia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I grew up going to The Palm downtown regularly. I used to love looking at all the caricatures on the walls of all the Philadelphia "greats" and I still do, even as an adult.
The service is always impeccable- old school waiter training!

Last I was there, I actually remembered to use the birthday gift certificate they sent me for being a member of their 837 Club, so we were able to get a complimentary 3 pound lobster along with our Prime Bone-in Rib Eye Steaks. The surf and turf was perfect- the lobster was SO tasty- just like I used to eat in Maine and the steak was cooked flawlessly. I also love their sauteed mushrooms in addition to their infamous half and half -fried potatoes and onion rings that I "look" at only, since they are sinful.

If you love steak and seafood, The Palm is always an excellent choice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Double yum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

OMG the size of the lobsters! Couldn't even finish The appy was yummy too. Water melon with mozzarella cheese and a Pesto drizzle. Double yum. Giant sides. What could be better. By the way wait staff was wonderful and helpful. I never would have ordered my appy if he didn't tell me about it. Am I glad he did.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I like the Palm. We sat in the bar & had salads, apps & bar snacks. Nice happy hour food pricing. Good value. Best wedge salad i had in Philadelphia. very good calamari. Interesting flat bread and tasty 9though small) crab cakes. Good wine by the glass selection. Good job! fun bar!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palm also viewed

 

Been to The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.