We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marathon Grill

Marathon Grill
16th & Sansom, 121 S 16th St, Philadelphia, PA 19102 (City Center West)
215-569-3278
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Marathon Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #382 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: 16th and Sansom
Transit: Conveniently located only 3 blocks from the Broad Street Line and several major bus routes including: 2, 9, 21, and 42.
Description: Marathon has served the neighborhoods of Philadelphia for over 25 years as a family-run restaurant group. We serve well-made American classics, and strive to source the freshest food locally available to us, including from our own Marathon Farm in Brewerytown, Philadelphia. Our favorite farm to table items include our grass-fed Cheesesteak, free-range Turkey Plate, and fluffy Omelets made with cage-free eggs.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quirky Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Sort of a cross between a diner and a bar but served a purpose to us on the night we went. The service was VERY slow. The menu was interesting. It has a WholeFoods quality to it but also a comfort food side. I had the a pasta dish with fresh veggies and shrimp which was absolutely delicious!!!! Thinking about it now makes me hungry! Their version of the Philly cheese was good to my son- grass fed beef etc. Nice wine/cocktail list. So not a place for an intimate dinner as the dining room was quite loud. Fun to watch the people going by on the street (windows on all sides) though. Also not great if you are in a hurry probably. But, food was good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    77
    24
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We found our way to the Marathon after a long day of walking and feeling too tired for options. We didn't want to resort to chains so were glad to find this place. The food was really average although I had a feeling the breakfast would be very good.

Ordered soup and a hummus plate. Had to ask for bread and then she brought us 2 slices of sandwich bread - a little odd.

Also, asked for hummus - said she assumed we'd want that after our soup.

All that being said, food was tasty and service was pleasant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Upbeat dinner at reasonable NY prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

While in town for the Army/Navy game we enjoyed this restaurant twice. The food and wait staff was good enough to go back a second time during our short 3 day stay. We also enjoyed the people watching from a window seat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic farm-sourced breakfast at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I read the reviews on Yelp and was a little hesitant to come here, but i was very impressed with this place! It's big and busy, so i'm sure service can be slow at times but the food was great and I loved that they had organic, free range, local menu options!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Never Had a Bad Breakfast at a Marathon Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great breakfasts with multi grain bread, delicious home fries and varied menu. Breakfast burrito, salmon-goat cheese omelets, eggs benedict, scrambled eggs, over medium eggs...these were our choices and we all raved about our breakfasts. Great city vibe. Reasonable prices for the food. $5 bloody marys and mimosas. The Westin staff recommended this place and we wanted to go here from past experience. Put it on your list!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marathon Grill also viewed

 

Been to Marathon Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marathon Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.