We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average pub fare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Irish Pub

Irish Pub
1123 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4918 (City Center East)
(215) 925-3311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #904 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: City Center East
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Average pub fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere has a traditional pub flair and the restaurant has a decent size menu. I had a veggie burger that seemed freshly made and my family enjoyed their deep fried chicken thumbs. They had a good beer listing as well. Our service was just ok. We decided to come here because the Franklin Institute informed us of a 15% discount off dinner entrees (but get the paperwork from the institute to verify the discount). I wouldn't go out of my way to dine here, but if you're in the neighborhood, it's a decent choice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    22
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Hearty food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had a great hearty meal before catching the subway to a concert. Shepherd's pie was full of flavor, the traditional fish & chips were delicious, and the chicken thumbs huge pieces of moist chicken breast surrounded by crunchy goodness. The staff were all very friendly and made us feel very welcome. A great find. Would have loved to spend a night at the bar with friends.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A bit O' the Green...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice little pub. Quite traditional looking. Friendly staff and comfortable setting. Beer selection limited but had very nice stout called O'Hares. Didn't have food but the menu looked decent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrific burgers. Super staff. Brie and crab dip tasty, too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

On Friday night the bar was packed full but there were plenty of booths in the back where it was quieter. We will go again the next time we're in Philly.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Generic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The name of this place captures it perfectly. Kind of a movie set sort of decor. All the junk you'd expect to see, but none of it seems authentic. Same with the food. Not especially fresh or interesting, but I suppose it served a purpose after we did some pub crawling. I'd put this one way down on the list of pubs to hit in Philadelphia.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.