We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little nosh in South Philly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Famous 4th Street Delicatessen

Famous 4th Street Delicatessen
700 S 4th St, Philadelphia, PA 19147-3102 (Bella Vista / Queen Village)
215-922-3274
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Diner, Kosher
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“a little nosh in South Philly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed breakfast at Famous on a rainy morning in Philly. My wife enjoyed the lox and bagel while I had salami (Kosher) and eggs. Brisk service and excellent food....... fresh and well prepared. The chocolate chip cookie for dessert was fresh and delicious.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    53
    22
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Jewish Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Famous's is one of the oldest traditional deli's in the city. The corned beef and/or pastrami are very tasty, juicy and tender. The sandwiches are gigantic and each platter comes with two potato pancakes that are crispy and golden. there is also a large variety of soup to choose. Ask for a cup, as a bowl is at least 24oz. The one thing you cannot pass up is the selection of cookies, pastries or cakes. They have chocolate chip and oatmeal raisin cookies that are like a bite of buttery heaven. My favorite is the cheese kugel.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“First time here brought me right back to my NYC roots.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we sat down, they gave us a bowl of coleslaw/vinegerette and pickles. The first bite into the pickle, my mind went immediately to my childhood in NYC when we would walk home from the deli eating a pickle in a piece of wax paper. It only got better with the meal!. Plan to take it home and have left overs for dinner the next day. Wait staff is courteous, pleasent, informative, place is clean, parking is easy. Little pricey but when you consider you can get 2 to 3 hearty meals from it, it really is cheap. Enjoy!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We always try to be very hungary when we go there. Their corned beef, chopped liver, pastrami are all the best you can get in the city! Their cakes are terrific too!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AS GOOD AS MANHATTAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Some of the best deli's in the world, if not the best, are in Manhattan. 4th Street Deli is in that class. The sandwiches were over the top delicious with pastrami and corned beef as good as it gets, also loved the rye bread, very NY. The potato pancakes, as a side dish were crisp and something I'd expect to pay extra for, were included. Would go back to this restaurant in a heartbeat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous 4th Street Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Famous 4th Street Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous 4th Street Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.