We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pietro's Coal Oven Pizzeria

Pietro's Coal Oven Pizzeria
1714 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)
215-735-8090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pietro's Coal Oven Pizzeria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #223 of 3,780 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Walnut Street Between 17th and 18th Street
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My family and I ate during there on a recent visit to the city. It was wonderful. Perfect family place. The waitress brought the children's meals as soon as they were ready -- as a parent, I really appreciate when waiters do that. The pasta was amazing but the portions are large. My husband and I split the ziti and could not finish it. The staff was great and the atmosphere was perfect. I will return.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    104
    27
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly, well priced Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Good food mainly the pasta and tira misu. Pizza was also ok but not wow compared to other italian eateies. Blue Moon draft was superb. Very friendly staff. We ended up visiting twice in 2 days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very noisy Italian restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our server was Natasha, very pleasant and informative. Food was hit and miss. The fried calamari and Caesar salad were amazing as appetizers. Pizza was so-so, as was the chicken and fettucine dish. The veal parmiagana was good.

Such a large restaurant, and on a Saturday night, our party of five could barely hear each other let along engage in conversation just an arms-reach across the table. Definitely a drawback.

Don't think I'd necessarily go back again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not for us”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

This was my husbands choice, he wanted a pizza. I had a chicken pasta dish. There was too much garlic for me and I hardly touched it. He enjoyed the strong tasting garlic on his pizza. Unfortunately, he had d & v in the night. Was it related to the food? The service was good very quick, lighting very dim I struggled to read menu, quite noisy and bustling. Would I recommend it? No.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Forest Hills, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“delicioso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

great pizza / salad and beer spot. Great beers on draft and the pizza is so fresh and delicious. Being from NY thats not easy to find anywhere else, and I fully enjoyed every second of it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pietro's Coal Oven Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Pietro's Coal Oven Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pietro's Coal Oven Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.