We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but the Steak is Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marmont

Marmont
222 Market St, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
(215) 923-1100
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Marmont is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #423 of 3,778 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: 2nd Street
Transit: 2nd & Market Streets
Description: Unlike traditional steakhouses, Marmont balances a casual dining experience with exceptional quality. Choose from seven generous cuts, even customize your cut. All steaks are hand carved in house. Discover our 22oz Rib eye, and savor our Filet Oscar, a center cut filet topped with jumbo lump crab, fresh asparagus and hollandaise. Executive Chef Jorge Pacheco has crafted a menu full of unique salads, exciting daily specials, and homemade desserts. We also import the best seafood. Try our legendary crab bisque or the ‘catch of the day.’ Our reasonably priced international wine list will perfectly complement your experience. When the weather is nice, dine or relax outside with local award winning craft beer or one of 30 martinis, right in the heart of old city.
PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expensive, but the Steak is Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Love the steak!
Love the Crab Bisque!
All of the food was fantastic and the service was too.
If we didn't have the travelzoo voucher we probably wouldn't go here because it's out of our price range.

One complaint. You shouldn't have a server walking around with a windex bottle all night and spraying it right in front of people having a nice meal together. It kind of ruins the mood and the windex smell over powers the wonderful food you make. There are better ways to keep your tables clean.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but a high quality steak...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This place is sort of casual bar-meets-steak house. I went all out: 12 oz filet mignon, side of mashed potatoes, crab bisque soup, and a glass of house red wine. Total with tip: $67.

The crab bisque soup was excellent. Not just cream with a crab flavor. Bits of real crabmeat. Really tasty.

So the main event - the steak. My filet was an impressive, hand-carved piece of beef. It was cooked a bit conservatively; I asked for medium and what I got probably bordered more toward medium rare. Nonetheless, very tender. Not quite melt-in-your-mouth as the finest steak houses might provide but pretty darn close. Really nice. However, one thing that did surprise me was something of a blandness that is unusual in top quality beef. I am not sure if their beef is dry aged but I'm inclined to think it isn't. (I noticed that they did not mention aging -- or even terms like 'prime' -- in their menu).

The mashed potatoes were rather ordinary...not sufficiently dense and rather bland.

For what it's worth, their house red that night was a good pour for a cheap $6.

Service was attentive; friendly, pleasant young ladies seem to be the servers of choice in this restaurant.

Overall, my experience was mixed. I would give 3.5 stars. I might give them one more try - I noticed a few other intriguing items like a full rack of lamb - not to mention some giant cut steaks (22 oz and even a 30 oz cowboy ribeye). But I'm also thinking that the price was a bit high for the overall experience.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great steak, all else just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went to Marmont on a travelzoo voucher. Paid $49 for one appetizer, two entrees and two glasses of wine. Service was great--in fact, a little too great, with the waitress checking in on us every 3 minutes (we sat down early, so for much of the meal, we were her only table). Appetizer was just okay--we shared a baked brie with fruit. We had two steaks, and they were fantastic. Thick, juicy, perfectly prepared. The homemade house sauces that accompanied them were again, just okay. I liked the creamy horseradish sauce best. Everything is a la carte, so in order to have veggies, we had to order (and pay for) additional items. The mashed potatoes were fine, and the brussel sprouts had lots of bacon in them. A fairly small list of wines by the glass, but how many choices do you need? My husband added a cappucino at the end. Our bill for the additional items, plus tax and tip, was another $45, so it wasn't cheap, but it wasn't outrageously priced either.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Steak in Ole City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed an experience with a travelzoo experience getting 50% off the meal for 2 including wine. However, I would have been glad to pay full price for the authenticity & deliciousness of the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Hip Steak House on Market Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Took my date to a steak house a little more vibrant and hip than lets say Smith & Wollensky's (Great Steak House). I had the Risotto with Seafood Special that came with Lobster and Shrimp. My date had the Filet Mignon Oscar Style. It was Great! Side of Asparagus was cooked perfect. Drinks and dinner came to $170. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmont also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Marmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.