We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Sophisticated Comfort Good in Olde City, try the Continental” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Continental

The Continental
138 Market St., Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
(215) 923-6069
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, International, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“For Sophisticated Comfort Good in Olde City, try the Continental”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Continental in Olde City is restaurant mogul Stephan Starr's first place in Philadelphia and is now almost 20 years old. Although we hadn't been there in a while, we found it still delivers excellent food at a reasonable price. The menu consists of a tasty array of appetizers, small plates and larger plates, soups, as well as a limited, but tasty range of deserts. Martinis are also a specialty. Plates are meant to be shared, tapas style. Everything we had, from appetizers to deserts, was well-prepared, made with an imaginative choice of ingredients and well -prepared. We particularly enjoyed the Diver's scallops, the Spinach Ravioli and the Soft Shrimp Tacos with pistachios. Desert was a luscious brownie with chocolate-hazelnut ice cream and fudge sauce. Service was attentive, and our server paid particular attention to food sensitivities of one of our party. Based on our recent experience, I plan a return visit soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    141
    48
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Casual good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We ate at the Continental on the recommendation of some good friends. Other friends were visiting Philadelphia for a trade show and so we went up to meet them for dinner and were looking for a nice casual place to get good food. The Continental fit the bill.

The restaurant is in a good location, right on the corner of Market and 2nd. The layout is horseshoe shaped, with bigger (and therefore, more noisy) parties seated around the corner from the entrance. Since we were one of these, it suited us well. As you come in there are a number of smaller tables and a large bar. The bar dominates this area to some extent. It almost has a "diner-feel' to it. The place was quite busy on a mid-week evening.

Our waiter was very pleasant and provided good suggestions. We started with a large number of hors d'ouvres to share. Portions were generous, so there was plenty to go around. Everything was excellent. Drinks are a specialty of the house, so we had martinis and wine. The food and service were very good.

This is not an inexpensive place, but I believe the value is appropriate. It is fairly noisy, but comes off as vibrant. I would recommend this restaurant to others looking for good food in a bustling atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great place for a traditional breakfast. Pancakes, omelets etc... All were fantastic, inexpensive and perfect size portions. Mimosa's were great as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a quick bite and the plan worked. We didn't realize it was tapas, but because it was they were quick with their food. We only got the lobster mac and the chicken BBQ quesadilla. Both were so yummy!! The best part of our experience was the service. They all work together to take care of their guests. Thanks for a great experience!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great appitizers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

was in Philly for a conference and had a lovely meal at this very nice restaurant. great service and even better appetizers, Szechuan Shoestring Fries and Thai Chicken Lettuce Wraps are awesome...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Continental also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to The Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.