We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every day for the rest of my life.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Continental

The Continental
138 Market St., Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
(215) 923-6069
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 3,780 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Tapas, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: City Center East
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Every day for the rest of my life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Service was really great. My sister has a nut allergy and the kitchen was very accommodating. The Mexican salad was super yummy and I'd eat that every day for the rest of my life. Mozzarella sticks were cheesy and stringy. Thai shrimp tacos awesome. S'more had too much chocolate for my liking. Food came out too fast. I'd go back and take a slower time ordering instead of lining up all the dishes at once. Fun atmosphere. Shag carpet on ceiling-nice.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    130
    48
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Continental Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I went here on a Saturday night on a whim, we had no reservations and they had a quick wait (said about 30 mins, was only about 15). We never ate here before, but know of the restaurant and were excited to try the menu. The food and service were awesome! We ordered a bunch of small plates and were pleased with everything. Our favorite was the cheese steak egg rolls. Only negative is that it is VERY loud in here. We were initially sat in a room with a loud, drunk party (we couldn't even hear the server talk) but she was awesome and changed our seat right away. Other than that everything was perfect. We will come back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always great, never disappoints. Great martinis and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been eating here for years, think I had my first cosmo here. The martinis are always good, the food is always interesting and great, service is friendly and efficient. The front room, bar and tables, can be packed and noisy - good energy but cramped and loud. Try the bar in the back room - totally different vibe, not quite as crowded, and the bar stools have backs, a nice perk if you want to stay a while. There are also little seating nooks which are more private and roomy.
Great mix of people, hip and upbeat. Not good for quiet conversations but just a very cool place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shartlesville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I've been here twice, and haven't had anything I didn't like, including mixed drinks. In particular, I loved the hummus plate and the voilet femmes drink. Super yum!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun and retro atmosphere. Food was perfect, lots to choose from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Honestly, everything was great, especially the swinging chairs. Not loud, cool decor, friendly staff

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Continental also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to The Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.