We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and a Show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victor Cafe

Victor Cafe
1303 Dickinson St, Philadelphia, PA 19147-6213 (Bella Vista / Queen Village)
215-468-3040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Victor Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Cross street: Broad Street
Transit: Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station
Abington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dinner and a Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have been to Victor Café before, the last time being a surprise party my husband threw for me for my 50th birthday a few years back. I can say that the food was even better when we visited on Saturday night, April 6 with my sister, a cousin and a friend. We chose some specials from the menu Rigatoni Bolognese was spectacular) and from the regular menu (Veal Piccate, done perfectly). The house wine was delightful. In addition, the musical interludes were plentiful and magnificent, both solo and duet performances. What a unique establishment. Although Victor Café is not cheap, it is well worth the price of admission!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    57
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Operatic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was attending a conference in Philly and a group of us went to the Victor Cafe based on a recommendation from a local colleague. We started our experience by walking in during one of the arias.

They have a great selection of Italian fare, including choices for vegetarians. Everyone enjoyed the meal they ordered. Throughout our meal we were serenaded by the staff who took turns wowing us with their powerful voices. It was amazing to hear the power of the voice from our petite waitress!! The moment they rang the bell to signal they were about to sing, the entire place went silent. They each had a distinctive style and brought a unique feel to the aria they performed.

It was an enjoyable experience (food and entertainment) and I would definitely come back the next time I'm in Philly!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A WOW factor of 10!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Going to the Wells Fago Ctr for a concert and needed a place to eat close and with some panache. Did I get blown away by the whole experience. From the moment you walk in, you experience the ambiance of a European cafe. Friendly greeting at the door, no wait for our reserved table, server very helpful in explaining the special drinks and food offerings of the evening but the best part was to come. The Ceaser salad was crisp, fresh and tasty. The wine was as suggested - bold and character happy. The entrees were presented well, colorful, very flavorful, and just right as far as serving size. Desert was a delightful Creme Brulee. Of course, during dinner the serving staff sung Italian opera for your musical enjoyment. What a fantastic experience for a special evening out. Valet parking was $12 but worth not driving around to find a spot in South Philly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“be prepared for a good time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The food was excellent and well priced. I had the best Mushroom soup that ever had ever in life. And, if you like opera, all of the staff who sang were wonderful. It was so much fun for a first date.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Blown away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

From the old pictures, to the food, to the opera singers, Victor was the highlight of my trip. I was surprised our glassware didn't shatter from the opera singers! Amazing

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Victor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victor Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.