We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar scene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Happy Rooster

The Happy Rooster
118 S 16th St, Philadelphia, PA 19102 (City Center West)
2159639311
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #643 of 3,779 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: City Center West
Description: Conveniently located within walking distance of Rittenhouse Square, The Happy Rooster is a Philadelphia icon that has been serving delicious food for over four decades. With the exception of a whimsical rooster-themed stained glass window, the exterior of this corner bar is unassuming. Once inside however, quiet music and low lights create a relaxing atmosphere to enjoy drinks or a fabulous meal. Perched throughout in every size and medium, roosters definitely rule this roost!
Leonia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great bar scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a small, old place which I have never previously been to though I have spent plenty of time in Philadelphia. Nice, comfortable atmosphere with lots of dark wood ambiance. We only sat at the bar and drank wine, but it proved to be a wonderful place to join friends for drinks. Very, very comfortable place. Not pretensious, not overly costly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah J, Owner at The Happy Rooster, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Great drinks and a wonderful ambiance? Sounds like a successful night out to us, Walter! It's great to hear that you discovered us on your last trip to Philly. Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we hope you'll visit us again on your next trip to Philadelphia.

Till then,
The Happy Rooster Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Myerstown, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Strange vibe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for drinks and were not impressed. The bar vibe was very unfriendly. We felt like we were crashing someone's house party uninvited. We're not acknowledged by the waitress and had to order drinks at the bar. Cool decor though

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah J, Owner at The Happy Rooster, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
It's great to hear that you loved our decor, but disappointing that you found our service sub-par. Customer feedback is very important to us, so we will definitely discuss your review with our staff. Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention and we hope you'll visit us again soon and give us the opportunity to provide you with better service.

Sincerely,
The Happy Rooster Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cock-A-Doodle-Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My how the times have changed. When I first frequented the Rooster in the 1990's it was a tired sad place. The renovations and the direct access to the rear bar have really jazzed the decor up. The monthly/weekly specials on the board outside the restaurant provide tremendous value. It looks like another Philly mainstay has managed to come into the 21st century with a great menu, atmosphere and food value.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah J, Owner at The Happy Rooster, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
It's so great to hear that you've enjoyed all of the renovations and work we're put into The Happy Rooster, Merv! Great food, cold beer, awesome atmosphere — that's what we've worked so hard for, so it's great to hear that you think we're hitting our mark. Thank you for being a loyal customer for the past 20 years and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Till then,
The Happy Rooster Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Interesting place with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We found this small restaurant/bar just a short walk from our hotel so we had dinner there on our first night. Walked in hoping for a table and were in luck.

Great decor, low lighting, and a lively, upbeat atmosphere. Was quite busy the night we were there - was a Friday so I guess people were there to wind down (or was it up?) at the end of the working week.

Our server was certainly earning her keep - she seemed to be the only one looking after the diners and there were quite a few of us. The food was great - what we would call above average 'pub' food. I had the lobster macaroni gratin (seriously - it was very good) which was a starter but more than enough for a main, he had the bouillabaisse and we shared a side of brussels sprouts with parmesan and balsamic, simply because it had been ages since we had seen them on a menu. Delicious. Then an easy walk back to the hotel feeling quite pleased with ourselves for finding something so good, so close.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah J, Owner at The Happy Rooster, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
It's great to hear that you loved the Lobster Macaroni Gratin! Good food, good service, authentic Philly vibe — that's our game plan, so we're very happy that you had the chance to stop in on your trip to Philadelphia. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope you come dine with us again on your next trip to the States!
All the best,
The Happy Rooster Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We just went for drinks - it was O.K. - service was pretty slow (and drinks were pretty expensive) so we went elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah J, Owner at The Happy Rooster, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I'm glad that you stopped in and visited us, but very disappointed to hear that you found our service sub-par! Since you've written this review, we've worked hard to make a ton of improvements. We hope you'll give us another chance and let us know how we're doing!

All the best,
Happy Rooster Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Happy Rooster also viewed

 

Been to The Happy Rooster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Happy Rooster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.