We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ralph's Italian Restaurant

Ralph's Italian Restaurant
760 S 9th St, Philadelphia, PA 19147-2837 (Bella Vista / Queen Village)
215-627-6011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ralph's Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #204 of 3,843 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Cross street: Catherine
PA
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had just a delightful dinner here. The food was excellent, the wine flowed, and even our waitress was a treasure. Definately our our list to return to. Food is old world Italian. Atmosphere was casual to romantic. Prices, quite reasonable. Maybe not as fancy as some, but we loved it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    86
    50
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I love the food and the people, I suggest do get any of the pastas and the meatballs.Also check out the Italian market!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Authentic, traditional Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We asked the bartender at a neighboring restaurant "where would you go for really good Italian food?" He answered Ralph's. We made a reservation for the next evening and were not disappointed. There was a steady stream of locals and visitors that came in to eat, some with and some without reservations - all were accommodated in a friendly, courteous manner. The atmosphere lent itself to my grandmother's Italian kitchen, tables were close but if we were in Italy they would have been even closer. The service was wonderful, attentive and our waiter paced our meal perfectly. For two, we ordered too much food but we knew that. Everything just looked so good. The highlights were the mussels in red sauce (the sauce was so good I could have had just that with bread to sop up every drop!), the veal Parmesan (yes, it was huge, tender and delicious) and the meatballs. We enjoyed everything we had but those we our favorites. If I get back to Philly, Ralph's will be one of my first stops.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old school”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Old school, cheesy Italian food. Great casual ambience, fun waiters with a little snark. Good place for kids since it's already pretty loud. VERY reasonably priced, in the heart of the Italian market section of Philly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deatsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow...truly authentic Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The gal operating the Visitor's Center in the Italian Market put us on to this place. What a lunch! The veal parmesan was huge, the sauce (gravy) was fantastic and my wife had the veal saltimbocca and said it was the best she ever had. This is the oldest Italian restaurant in American and it is definitely one of the best....I highly recommend it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ralph's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Ralph's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ralph's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.