We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm place for an informal dinner with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friday Saturday Sunday

Friday Saturday Sunday
261 S 21st St, off Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103-4815 (City Center West)
215-546-4232
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Friday Saturday Sunday is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Rittenhouse
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very warm place for an informal dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent a very nice dinner in this place. Service was very warm and nice to us. Good food and in tune with the overall athmosphere.

Tasty desserts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    54
    18
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Apparently a local institution.
Very pleasant experience.
Cosy and refined mood.
Simple cuisine with fresh ingredients and personal touches.
Friendly owners.
Must-try!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresher, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“family birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Celebrated a family birthday last evening here. We have known about this place for a while and live in the suburbs, so it is not a place we come to regularly.
We had cocktails upstairs in the small tank bar which was very noisy and crowded. Drinks were pricey, but well made. Bartender was not very helpful.
Dinner was great- I had a filet that was good and hubby had sea bass which tasted fresh. Service was excellent- wait staff were very attentive and helpful, especially Dan the manager.
Our one complaint that the place is in need of an overhaul -it looks a bit shabby.
Other than that great place to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Still lovely after all these years...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We have frequented this restaurant occasionally over the past thirty years, though this was our first visit in quite a while. FSS, I am happy to say, still puts out fine food at a reasonable price, and still holds to its fair pricing on wines. They now offer small plates as well as normal entrees, and several are delicious. Mushroom ravioli, chicken Dijon, creamy pâté platter, Caesar salad, all very tasty. Their justly famous mushroom soup remains on the menu, and I'm sure as good as ever. Service was professional and friendly, and I expect to be back on a return visit to Philly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Incredibly weird dining experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We would have to agree with the last two reviewers who found Friday Saturday Sunday to be "different" and "strange". The service was so incredibly awful for so many reasons that we left before completing a meal. We asked to speak to the owner and explain our departure and he offered to comp the drinks and appetizers we had already had which was admirable (we paid anyway) but could in no way make up for this incredibly odd restaurant. We'll never really know if the food was good since we never got to the entrees, but we could not get past the most awful service we've ever experienced and well as perplexingly uncomfortable outdoor seating. There are many wonderful restaurant experiences in Philly these days and I would not waste an evening here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friday Saturday Sunday also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Friday Saturday Sunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friday Saturday Sunday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.