We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Dinners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Romano

Bistro Romano
120 Lombard St, Philadelphia, PA 19147-1602 (City Center East)
215-925-8880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Romano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Between Front and 2nd
Transit: Septa: 40 Bus, 57 Bus
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We live near Bistro Romano, so we've eaten here numerous times. It's one of our favorite restaurants in Philly, so having it within walking distance is great. We love the ambiance - it's cozy, rustic and romantic. On our last visit, I reserved the Cellar Room for my husbands birthday. That was a neat experience - I recommend it! The food is always superb, no matter what we get. I recommend the tableside ceasar salad - it's worth the money and adds to the dining experience. We get it every time. Service has always been top notch - they seem to go above and beyond without being overly attentive, which can sometimes be annoying. If you get a chance, visit the bar (the bar itself is an amazing piece of art!) and ask the bartender the story behind it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    72
    25
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We go here every once in awhile, but on Mother's Day we took out my mother in law. The food was excellent especially their Caesar Salad which is made in front of you. Wine selections are nice and food is very good.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Off Night?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I think we went on an off night. The atmosphere was incredible. Very romantic. They were able to seat us early as our plans in the city ended early. The Caesar salad was awesome We did have a letdown as the vegetables were cold. The dessert was good. I think we just went on an off night. We will try this place again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our first time to this restaurant. Warm reception, seated immediately, even though we were a bit early for our reservation. We were taken to a cozy, romantic room downstairs, stone and brick with several tapestries on the wall . Our server, Keith greeted us promptly. We chose the Caesar salad which was prepared tableside, by Keith. He explained all ingredients, very crisp and delicious. We ordered the stuffed mushrooms too which were very flavorful, love that sausage stuffing, and were well worth the wait. For entrees we selected the Veal Saltimbocca and Veal Melanzane both cooked to perfection. They both came with a side of pasta which was al dente but just too much, so full we couldn't partake of the scrumptious desserts they offer. Guess that means we will be returning. Had a wonderful dinner, a few glasses of wine & exceptional service for under $100. Will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, kitchen view (not in a good way)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our first time at Bistro Romano. We needed to push back our reservation, so that may be the reason for our table just inches from the kitchen/bus/drink area. One of us had a view of the beautiful, romantic brick walls, wood and lighting, and the other, a view of the fountain soda machine and wait staff running in and out of the kitchen. It was my birthday and I wish we had a better table, but we did move our reservation. Just a shame anyone should have a table like this; at least it wasn't outside the restrooms. It's a very cozy, romantic setting, though, overall.

The service was very good. They were very busy. The food was very good. We are not "foodies" or into exotic, imaginative creations. The stuffed mushrooms (5) were really tasty, stuffed with fine sausage and italian cheese and really flavorful. I had veal parm and it was delicious. My husband said his tilapia was good. The cannoli I had for dessert wasn't great. The shell was soggy and the filling didn't have much flavor. But the delicious main dishes made up for the cannoli. I would go back again but ask to not be seated at the cramped table outside the kitchen entrance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Romano also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Bistro Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Romano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.