We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a memorable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Restaurant

Fountain Restaurant
1 Logan Sq, Lobby, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6913
+1 215-963-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fountain Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #126 of 3,780 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Benjamin Franklin Parkway & 18th
Description: Fountain Restaurant has earned national acclaim as Philadelphia's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond restaurant. Imaginative and impeccable cuisine is served in a warm atmosphere that features a view of the stunning Swann Memorial Fountain in the Parkway Museums District. Breakfast and lunch are served daily. Dinner is served Tuesday through Saturday. Fountain Restaurant is widely considered one of the best restaurants in Philadelphia, having been rated the number one restaurant in Philadelphia by Zagat Survey, and receiving top honours from the Philadelphia Inquirer, Philadelphia Magazine and Bon Appetit.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“a memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

food is fabulous and the service is amazing, if a bit overly solicitous. We especially enjoyed the little "amuse bouche" treats between courses and the beautiful bag of cookies they gave us as we left. It's outrageously expensive but was a perfect anniversary dinner.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    38
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Private”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The food and service is what you would expect from a Four Seasons (they iron your newspaper). It is also very discrete.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“You won't find better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have lunch there at least once every two months. My wife and I have dinner there at least four times a year. Wonderful food, quiet, good wine list. Not cheap but a lovely way to spend an evening.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, NC
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Attractive restaurant, very good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This restaurant in the Four Seasons is quite elegant and serves very good food. Not exceptional, but well worth a visit. The bill was over$100 per person, so not cheap.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very calm and relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I've been meaning to go here for a while but it is hard to get a table on Opentable! It turns out that is because they hold tables back for hotel guests and it also means the restaurant was half empty. It was mostly filled with an affluent older crowd which means that it is quiet and unobtrusive. If you want trendy and vibrant then go elsewhere. It does mean though you can get a reservation here at short notice if you call them.

The quality of the menu, sommelier and food, as well as the service, is pretty excellent.

The seared tuna was overcooked to my taste: slightly red rather than raw in the centre. Other than that the execution was just right with time left to relax and enjoy the food. Service is subtle and well timed and we spent hours enjoying the cuisine.

Nice little extras like chocolate to take home justify the relatively high price - think in between Osteria and Vetri. That said I'm not sure if I would return: I prefer a bit more vibrance when I eat out, but that is a personal choice rather than a reflection on the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountain Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fountain Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.