We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a memorable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Restaurant

Fountain Restaurant
1 Logan Sq, Lobby, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6913
215-963-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fountain Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #107 of 3,722 restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Benjamin Franklin Parkway & 18th
Description: A recipient of Forbes Travel Guide’s 2010 Five Star award, Fountain Restaurant has earned national acclaim and a strong following. Imaginative and impeccable cuisine is served in a warm atmosphere that features a view of the stunning bronzes that comprise Alexander Stirling Calder’s Swann Memorial Fountain. Fountain Restaurant is considered one of the city’s – and the country’s – best restaurants, having been rated the number one restaurant in Philadelphia by Zagat Survey, and receiving top honours from the Philadelphia Inquirer, AAA and Bon Appétit.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“a memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

food is fabulous and the service is amazing, if a bit overly solicitous. We especially enjoyed the little "amuse bouche" treats between courses and the beautiful bag of cookies they gave us as we left. It's outrageously expensive but was a perfect anniversary dinner.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    99
    31
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Private”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The food and service is what you would expect from a Four Seasons (they iron your newspaper). It is also very discrete.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You won't find better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have lunch there at least once every two months. My wife and I have dinner there at least four times a year. Wonderful food, quiet, good wine list. Not cheap but a lovely way to spend an evening.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, NC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Attractive restaurant, very good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This restaurant in the Four Seasons is quite elegant and serves very good food. Not exceptional, but well worth a visit. The bill was over$100 per person, so not cheap.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very calm and relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I've been meaning to go here for a while but it is hard to get a table on Opentable! It turns out that is because they hold tables back for hotel guests and it also means the restaurant was half empty. It was mostly filled with an affluent older crowd which means that it is quiet and unobtrusive. If you want trendy and vibrant then go elsewhere. It does mean though you can get a reservation here at short notice if you call them.

The quality of the menu, sommelier and food, as well as the service, is pretty excellent.

The seared tuna was overcooked to my taste: slightly red rather than raw in the centre. Other than that the execution was just right with time left to relax and enjoy the food. Service is subtle and well timed and we spent hours enjoying the cuisine.

Nice little extras like chocolate to take home justify the relatively high price - think in between Osteria and Vetri. That said I'm not sure if I would return: I prefer a bit more vibrance when I eat out, but that is a personal choice rather than a reflection on the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountain Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fountain Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.