We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish tacos.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Vez Restaurant

El Vez Restaurant
121 S 13th St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4904 (City Center East)
215-928-9800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Vez Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Sansom
Transit: Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to El Vez. I and a friend each order the 5 taco sampler. Votes were fish beast, beef and pork next followed by chicken. There is an active bar scene. The guacamole was fantastic with the freshly made chips.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    206
    68
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My Go-To Special Occasion Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I'm a bit partial to Stephen Starr restaurants, and this is by far my favorite one. I've been coming here for my birthday for the past 3 years, and I don't imagine I'll ever go anywhere else. It's worth the price, but it is expensive, which is why I only go once a year. They have a variety of margaritas that are all delicious, and strong. The crab guacamole is one of the best I've ever had. I usually go with a large group of friends, and I don't recall any complaints. The tacos are on the smaller side, but I thought it was a perfect portion with a side of plantains. If you've never had plantains before, this is the place to try them out.

If you're going on a weekend, or anywhere near a holiday, make a reservation. At least a week in advance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“High Priced Indigestion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I really hate places that exist only because of snob appeal. The menu is not what you usually find. However, there is no excuse for having to pay that much money for indigestion. If you have a cast iron stomach and a lot of money to waste, feel free to go. Otherwise, Chili's is right down the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stephan Starr restaurants are our favorite. Never disappoint. This is the best Mexican Restaurant we ever eaten at. Guacamole is outstanding. Wait staff is so friendly and knowledgeable. Great for all ages. Don't miss. Reservations are difficult on Saturday night, so make in advance.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I love Steven Starr restaurants but this is my all-time favorite. The decorations are fun, with a decorated bike hanging from the ceiling. Check out the bathroom in the basement where it seems like the design was taken right from Ally McBeal (for those of you old enough to remember her).

The food is the star of this show. Combinations that pique your interest, wonderful blends of flavors and everything is served by an efficient and friendly staff. We have been here when it was crazy busy and also very slow on a hot summer afternoon. The food never ceased to be excellent, and the drinks were unique.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vez Restaurant also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to El Vez Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Vez Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.