We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find walking down 13th Street on a cold January day.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Vez Restaurant

El Vez Restaurant
121 S 13th St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4904 (City Center East)
215-928-9800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Vez Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 3,724 restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Sansom
Transit: Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station.
NJ
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great find walking down 13th Street on a cold January day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

With all the other restaurants closed on a late Sunday afternoon, we wandered into this place. What a find!
The best tacos ever. The corn soup with scallop was amazing. Fresh, sweet and flavorful.
We sat at the bar which is lively but not loud. Attentive service and a really good vibe.
Other places may be losing out by being closed on a Sunday with shows at the Convention Center. Not this place!
Be sure to try it. I's well worth the stop.

By the way, nice drink and beer choices!!
Friendly crowd.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    206
    180
    58
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Muchos Yummos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A funky, crowded, upbeat place, always crowded and always a wait at night but well worth it. White sangria is to die for. Margaritas by the pitcher with whatever tequila you would want. The pick 3 guacamole is awesome, esp the goat cheese version. The tacos are all great but the mahi mahi is the best! I have not tried them but the fajitas look wonderful as well! Enjoy it, it rocks! Only thing is the bathroom is on the lower level so those that cannot get around well would not enjoy this and it is a unisex wash basin which I personally am not a fan of.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dushore, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been here several times and it has always been a hit with everyone I've come with. The wait staff is always friendly and very prompt. The general manager comes out and checks on patrons...which is refreshing to see! They serve very large portions and everything I've tried has been amazingly delicious! Recommend their guac and margaritas!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice non-chain choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Picked this restaurant because it was close to my clients' hotel and was not a chain. Turned-out to be a good place to discuss business while still being fun & upscale. Noise level was not too high. Servers are good, great demeanor and sense of humor but still very professional. Food choices are good even if you don't like Mexican.

Surprisingly, even a trip to the restroom is an adventure, but I won't spoil the surprise.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A great place to eat/hang out/have a party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Try the Guac! They have a bunch of differnt kinds of guacamole and they are all good! I haven't had a bad meal here yet. I have been there for a birthday party and was there the other day to hang out with a friend. The atmosphere is lively and fun. The food is always great and fresh! If you love Mexican food, this is the spot.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vez Restaurant also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to El Vez Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Vez Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.