We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Thai food with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pattaya Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pattaya Grill
4006 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3020 (University City)
(215) 387-8533
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #756 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Neighborhood: University City
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai food with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Loved the pad thai & the coconut soup. We also had the calamari on a bed of lettuce. The sauce was spicy hot, so I requested one that's not since I'm not fond of spicy foods, and they gave me a good one. The lunch & early bird specials are very affordable. Really enjoyed the meal, and our alcoholic beverages (I had the strawberry daiquiri). Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Even better than expected - unusual but easy to love flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was our treat after eight hours on the road - and what a treat it was. We are in Philly for four days for a conference and by the end of dinner were plotting how we could get back for another chance at this menu, but it will be hard to pass on the great things we had. The chicken dumplings were a great start, delicately flavored in a very thin shell with a perfect dipping sauce. We shared our three main courses as well. When my friend ordered the pineapple fried rice with cashews, I wasn't expecting much. Wrong! Fluffy rice with interesting mix of tastes. Late Night Noodles seemed a perfect choice ad 9:30 pm and it sure was. Wide noodles with perfectly cooked sea food. The most uusual was Naam Ngeow, a traditional dish feauring stewed pork and a light curry over thin hand made noodles, we've never had anything like it. I finished off with hot ginger tea. My mouth was burning from the ginger, but it was so delicious that I never even shared! And when the bill came we felt almost guilty!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very good food but service can definitely improve. Received wrong food orders and had to send the food back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

food is fresh,great selection.
interesting and exotic spices.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Top Contributor
464 reviews 464 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“"bread and butter" Thai. Not fancy, goop portions, reasonable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

This is not gourmet in food or presentation, nor price ( my entree was $11.). This is not a criticism by any means, rather for guidance. The location is great, within the Penn campus. They have the Thai staples, Pad Thai, etc., great dumplings, and I had a really nice lemongrass soup filled with seafood. Very casual, bottled beer, including a Thai beer. Go for a casual, pleasant meal.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pattaya Grill also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Pattaya Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pattaya Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.