We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BYOB w/delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matyson

Matyson
37 S 19th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)
(215) 564-2925
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Matyson is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 3,722 restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Between Market & Chestnut
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BYOB w/delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This may have the best food in the city...And it's BYOB;Convenient to all of downtown-special fixed price and menu's every Sunday are outatanding.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    80
    33
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lower Mainland BC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Meat-i-topia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

the place was tidy, and had a simplistic and warm trendy charm to it. I was a little nervous looking at the menu as everything was a meat dish with meat type condiments to add to the meats. I had the special which was red drum fish. It was great. It was served with these elegant and tasty rice tater-tot looking morsels and some veggies. Not huge portions, but that is okay. My table mates had the lamb with venison sausage and I had a taste. Very nice--Considering I am not a meat freak! We got to bring in our own wine. tHat was awesome. a dessert was selected and it was very snazz with its lemony tart perfect presentation and taste.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We booked a table for the Sunday evening prix fixe menu at a late stage, having made no plans but being beguiled by the menu on their website. We were not disappointed. The theme of the menu was "beef" (albeit that pear and almond tart doesn't quite derive from a cow), and we were astounded by the superb quality of the cooking, for a $35 set price. Faultless service and well informed and charming staff made this the highlight of our trip. If only Matyson existed in London, we'd eat there every week. The BYOB policy is an added bonus, but the food itself is the reason for going.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Philly favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Four months in Philly, and this was the place we came back to again and again. With the constantly changing menu, an inventive cook and good service all around, it's no wonder you have to book a table in advance. There are so many good restaurants in Philly, but if you have to pick just one in the medium budget range, this must be the one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Foodie Destination; BYOB with superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went back recently after several visits this past summer and this place never ceases to amaze us. Always bring several fine wines for pairing and they never hesitate to provide all the correct/required glassware. Tasting menus vary weekly and are always extremely well-thought out (typically with a uniting theme) and offer great value. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matyson also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Matyson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matyson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.