We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese with a modern twist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zama

Zama
128 S. 19th St., Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)
215-568-1027
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zama is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #348 of 3,843 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Moravian
Garden City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Japanese with a modern twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Very attractive restaurant. Lot's of light colored wood and very clean. Menu is quite extensive and has all the "favorites". My wife and I stuck with our usual rolls and were very pleased overall. Only drawback is the cost. Somewhat expensive for what you get. Green tea is about the best we have ever had. Worth the cost.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    16
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Mediocre sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This place isn't too bad as far as sushi places go, but definitely not good enough to warrant a second visit. I had a sashimi platter and then some nigri rolls. There was nothing outstanding about it, but on the other hand there was nothing to really recommend it either. Simply average in my opinion but not bad.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Japanese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Zama was recommended by the concierge and doorman. It was within walking distance of our hotel so we gave it a try. It was fantastic! I wish I had had the time to eat there more than once. Although I was impressed because they accommodated my vegan diet, my non-vegan husband was equally impressed. I usually don't find delicious meals when dining out because of being vegan, but this restaurant was the exception. Try the mushrooms in miso and saki...delicious. Everything we got was exceptional so I don't think you'll be disappointed. Read the newspaper article about the owner as you walk in the door. Interesting story.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A creative take on Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I was there on a quiet Thursday evening.
I liked the fantasy in the dishes: traditional sushi shapes and tastes are enriched by more "Western" hints such as avocado and greens. I usually only want basic nigiri, but here I was advised to try more.
We had the tempura (good), pork dumplings (great), bronzino rolls (very very interesting taste mix), sushi trio called Rittenhouse Three (very good) and then we just nibbled a dessert.
It was also bloody cold inside by European standards :)

It was $40 pp and I'm looking forward to my next visit to Philly to try the other main courses.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I ate here with a few friends and we arrived without a reservation on a Saturday night. We had to wait a little while, but not more than 30 minutes to get a seat. We have some local friends that said the sushi was worth the wait. They weren't lying!

The atmosphere is pretty good, we got our own booth separated from everyone else. The menu was pretty extensive, but the waiter was very helpful! We ordered A Lot of food and drinks and every single thing was delicious. The Kirin Ichiban Braised Short Ribs were easily the best short ribs I have ever eaten! GET THEM!

Our bill was pretty high, but we did get a lot of food. If you go here expect to pay average to slightly high prices for sushi and high prices for alcohol. Still, I would go there again and again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zama also viewed

 

Been to Zama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.