We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Havana/Miami in Philly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar

Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar
10 South 2nd Street, Old City, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
215-627-0666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #145 of 3,785 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Between Market & Chestnut Streets
Transit: Phlash, Septa Market-Frankford Line (2nd & Market)
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Little Havana/Miami in Philly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Not usually one for "theme" restaurants (a little like eating at Epcot) I was reluctantly enticed by the ultimate offer. Let me buy you as mojito.
After a perfect mojito at the bar and a realization that the dining area was packed. We settled in for dinner. The roast pork, sweet potato mash and grilled steak had all the traditional flavors and trimmings. But the entire experience was made by our waiter, Bob! His knowledge humor and engaging manner were a key element to the wonderful evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarissaSudol, Guest Relations Manager at Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your positive feedback on your dining experience with us - we really appreciate it! We're so glad that you decided to join us and had such a wonderful experience. Please come back soon next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    141
    55
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
napa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

On our first day in Philly we ate an early dinner here, before going to see the Phillies and Padres. The food was very good and the service was excellent. I had the skirt steak and my wife had the tapas shrimp. The mashed sweet potatoes with the skirt steak was delicious. We engaged our waiter in baseball talk; he knew a lot about the game, so that was fun.
Overall a nice experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarissaSudol, Guest Relations Manager at Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide positive feedback - we really do appreciate it! We're glad you and your wife decided to join us and had such a pleasant experience. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Food with a vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The high ceilinged restaurant gave a feel of space and the décor was fascinating. Service was attentive and the food good though servings were large. We were glad just to have chosen main courses. It was a Friday night and busy which added to the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colltreese, Guest Relations Manager at Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Phillip - thanks for taking the time to write such a great review! We really appreciate it. If you're ever in town again, please be sure to visit us and say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Cuban food, great brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I cannot say enough about how fantastic this restaurant was. We were only in Philadelphia for 2.5 days and we ate here for 2 meals! First, I need to comment on the service. On both occasions, the manager came around to check on our table. The service was quick, friendly, and the staff was eager to give suggestions for delicious items on the menu. Our first meal here was a Sunday brunch: unlimited tapas for about $26/person. The guacamole with pineapple was one of our favorites, the pork fried rice was delicious as well, and the basket of cuban breads/pastries was the perfect sweet ending to our meal. On our next visit, we tried one of their lunch specials: a quick 3 course meal of Cuban favorites. We live in New York and are discussing taking a bus back here at some point JUST for brunch at Cuba Libre. Finally, the ambiance was perfect. The leaf fans kept the room breezy and the salsa music had us feeling as if we stepped out of Philly and into a tropical paradise for a couple of hours. We will definitely be back soon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Blah”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Maybe it was an off day for them, but all I can say is blah. flavors were a bit underdeveloped. Some food was too salty. Just blah. If you want tasty cuban go to Alma De Cuba. It's a little bit farther from Market St but well worth the walk.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.