We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you want in a neighborhood restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anastasi's Seafood Ristorante

Anastasi's Seafood Ristorante
1101 S 9th St, Philadelphia, PA 19147-4608 (Bella Vista / Queen Village)
(215) 462-0550
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #479 of 3,724 restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Hedgesville, wv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exactly what you want in a neighborhood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go down to 9th street for dinner and get off the tourist beaten path. As tourists we search out gems like Anastasi's. Surrounded by fresh seafood coolers that offer a great selection, is a small restaurant & bar with guess what!! fresh fish & pasta dishes. Friendly staff, local patrons & great food. This is the kind of neighborhood restaurant that you would beg to find when traveling in Italy. If Rick Steve's did Philadelphia he would give this place 5 stars.

Rick & Laura

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    8
    7
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Great Mac & Cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I came across Anastai while visiting the Italian Market. One of the first 9th St. markets, Anastasi is owned and operated by a 4th generation brother and sister. It is a seafood market and restaurant. They deliver through Dining In Philly where my husband and I ordered from, to have dinner delivered to our hotel room. We ordered the clams casino and bacon blue crab mac & cheese. Because the mac & cheese was listed under appetizers, we ordered two. The servings were so big, we had enough for 4 meals. The clams were ok, but not your traditional clams casino. The mac & cheese was wonderful, full of crab meat. Would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

They have the best seafood chowder at a reasonable price. All the food is fresh and good. The atmosphere is fun, always great music playing. Service is very friendly. We always enjoy our visit here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Disregard my previous positive review - awful experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

It seemed as if all of the staff who care were laid off. It took forever to get a drink, even though we were sitting at the bar for lunch. After we ordered, I watched the cook walk into the bathroom and come back out with the same glove on his hand that he went in with. I should have left right then but I wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt because we liked it so much on our previous visit. It only got worse...most of our food was terrible. The server hung on my husband's arm while he was trying to eat his mostly indelible salad. She also complained about a bad tip from another table; maybe she should have tried harder for a tip from the remaining customers. It was even harder to get a second drink than it was the first. It just seemed like nobody here cares about the customers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

Any trip to Italian Market in South Philadelphia should include a stop at Anastasi Seafood.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anastasi's Seafood Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Anastasi's Seafood Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anastasi's Seafood Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.