We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food at moderate prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of N 3rd

N 3rd
801 N Third St, Philadelphia, PA 19123
(215) 413-3666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #545 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American, Tapas, International, Californian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good food at moderate prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

North 3rd is what my wife and I like to call our Friday place. It has a great feel to it. A wonderful waitstaff, great bartenders (Lisa, the Captain, Kevin) and good food. Peter the chef has a good menu at reasonable prices. Friday, I had 3 lamb chops with mashed potatoes a veggie and a sauce to kill for. $22. Peter's soups are wonderful too. Good bar food and good meals. Love going there. Been doing so for the past decade.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Atmosphere good, food ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Love the hip decor. Great place for drinks in NoLibs. Especially nice in warm weather with sidewalk seating. Food is just ok, though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This unique little restaurant had a nice menu and all the food was very reasonably priced. We sat at an outside table and enjoyed the weather. Our bill was less than $50 for 3 people including food and drinks.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Unique Menu, Interesting Location, Food is Just "meh".”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My husband and I recently ate breakfast at N 3rd.
The menu is very unique - lots of interesting food items to choose from. I ate a mushroom, spinach and goat cheese omelette and my husband got a crab, bacon, and corn omelette.
My goat cheese omelette was EXCELLENT, but my husband's omelette tasted ... strange. It was as if the bacon had been fried in a recently used pan and it tasted like some other kind of meat. It was a bit gross, honestly.
Other than the weird crab, bacon, and corn omelette, the food was good. The breakfast potatoes were tasty, the coffee was fine, and the orange juice had the perfect amount of pulp.
The restaurant is a great location - wonderful outdoor seating, and funky decor. The service was lacking - no one was "rude" but no one was very friendly either. The waitresses working mostly chatted amongst themselves.

Overall, this is a good place to try out unique, funky food items.
I'd recommend it if you're in the area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Very good food for a bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Very good food for a bar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed N 3rd also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to N 3rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage N 3rd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.