We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spasso

Spasso
34 S Front St, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
(215) 592-7661
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spasso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Between Chestnut & Market Streets
Transit: Train And Bus Stops 2nd & Market Street 1 1/2 Blocks Away.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Not from Philly was there with a local client based on what I read here. This is a must eat at place. Soup to nuts a great meal with great service. Very reasonable prices too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    72
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I went to Spasso the other night for the 2nd time and had just as good an experience as my first time. Really good food, decent prices for that location (Front Street/Penns Landing area) and great service. Both times we got there early on a Friday night so it wasn't crowded yet. Server was helpful and attentive. By the time we were leaving around 7:30 it was very crowded. I recommend the Zuppa de Mar (or something like that!) Loads of mussels, calimari, two huge shrimp, squid and a few "chunks" of fish over linquine in a red sauce. I asked if they could spice it up a notch as I remembered it from before as being pretty mild. I don't know what they added, but it was perfect. I'd love to go again and this time would try something different.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Loved the arugula salad and cheese ravioli. Service was excellent and they didn't rush our big group.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food and wonderful ambience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I ate here for our anniversary on a Thursday evening. We arrived around 6 pm and it got progressively busier as the evening went on. Our teen daughter joined us and she is a very picky eater. All she wanted was fettuccine Alfredo - we did not see this on the menu but they made it for her without batting an eyelash.

I started off with. A bowl of the soup of the day which was a white bean, kale and assorted vegetables in a clear broth. It was outstanding and clearly tasted home made. My wife and I both had the ravioli formaggio which was very tasty.

The wait staff was very attentive always keeping our drinks and water glasses filled.

This place is a great find on an otherwise secluded Front Street.

Well worth the trip!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Best of Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This place is awesome and that doesn't say enough. It's a must go to place for excellent food and service. The food is always good and the service and staff are friendly, helpful but not overbearing. Go, you'll love it and want to go back again. I never get the same dish because I want to try everything!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spasso also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Spasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.