We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in Philadelphia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morimoto

Morimoto
723 Chestnut St, Ste A, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2301 (City Center East)
215-413-9070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Morimoto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Between 7th & 8th on Chestnut Street
Transit: Route 47 bus – Chestnut Street stop.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Philadelphia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We love Morimotos! Great sushi everytime and never disappoints. For the best deal sit at the sushi bar and order the sushi omakase. The chefs will feed you until your full unlike at the tables.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    119
    60
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Surprise birthday dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hubby made reservations and took me on the day of my bday (Tuesday night). It feels like you're eating underground and the lamps at each table or certainly an interesting shape!! We went for the fixed menu (omikase) - one of the $80 and one of the $120 and then selected the $65 beverage pairing and the sake pairing, all with plans to evenly divide so we could maximize our tasting! Everything was interesting, but the plates are very small. Very expensive. It's cool that I've been, but for this kind of money, I'd go back to Volt in Frederick first!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NY Eve dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Morimoto in Philly is one of the best restaurants.....ANYWHERE. The wait staff was as good as it gets, the ambiance, the food was over the top. Took my wife and 3 of my kids (11,13 and 15) and despite this being an upscale dining experience, they made us feel right at home! Absolutely over the top sushi, and I didnt think the prices were that over the top! You have to go to Morimoto if you love fresh fish and outstanding preparation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Asian Fusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I went to Morimoto with my siblings,cousins, and husband December 27th. Food was absolutely wonderful! It was very well prepared,however portions were fit for a child. Kobe beef steak was very tender, but you probably get 6 slices if that. Oysters were outrageously overpriced! Duck duck duck was deliscious. Drinks were great, but really you are paying for the art of the food and beautiful setting of the restaurant. Did I had a great time? you bet, but our bill was $665 for 7 people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“If you think that this is real Japanese Food, Experience.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Forget it! Take yourself to Yasuda's in Midtown Manhattan (can't get anywhere near it without a reservation well in advance). My friends, THAT is the real Japanese food, Japanese restaurant experience. You'll probably get out of Yasuda's even cheaper than Morimoto.....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morimoto also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Morimoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morimoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.