We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lacroix at The Rittenhouse

Lacroix at The Rittenhouse
210 W Rittenhouse Sq, Rittenhouse Hotel, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5726 (City Center West)
215-790-2533
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lacroix at The Rittenhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 3,780 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: 19th & Walnut
Transit: PHLASH
Description: Located in the prestigious Rittenhouse Hotel, gazing over downtown Philadelphia's most elegant square, Lacroix has become a landmark in its own right. Romantic and evocative, our dining room beckons with the luminous glow of candlelight. Indulge your palate in our world-class menu, composed of the freshest ingredients.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lovely atmosphere with a remarkable four course menu ($75). Some of our dishes: a lobe of fois gras with truffles (an understandable extra charge for this decadence, mozzarella with radicchio, wonderfully tender poussin, and lamb saddle -- including a "lollipop" of ground lamb unlike anything I've ever tasted. The menu descriptions of the dessert did not do them justice: we shared and ooh-ed over them all. We kept the excellent sommelier busy choosing from a very fine wine list. It was a memorable meal and we hope to return soon. For Main Liners who have fond memories of Taquet in the Wayne hotel, you'll be pleased to know that the manager at LaCroix is Sylvain. One thing to note: the restaurant is a little tricky to find -- go in the main door, go around the hotel's front desk, turn left, then right, and take the elevator to the second floor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear impicky,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We appreciate your feedback and are so glad we were able to make your dining experience a successful one. I will pass along your compliments to the staff and hope to see you in Lacroix again soon.
Best,
Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    40
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Finishing on a high note”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had asked others where to go for dinner in Philadelphia - Lacroix, they'd say. Had read reviews, mostly positive, some not. We knew, if nothing else, this would be an expensive visit, but it was our last night in the US after all. So Lacroix it was.

The restaurant decor is quietly elegant and the ambience - refined without being stuffy is probably the best way to describe it. The noise level was just right, not so hushed that you feel uncomfortable but certainly conversation friendly. Our table overlooked a snow-covered Rittenhouse Square, looking quite pretty in the winter lights.

From the outset, the service was exemplary. The restaurant was busy but we didn't feel rushed. A number of people waited on us, showing interest and sharing conversation at the right times, moving unobtrusively around us at others - all under the direction of Sylvain Briens, the General Manager - a bit like a symphony really. If you work here, you are very good at your job (the best in fact), which is exactly what you would expect for this price point - polished, professional staff, highly skilled sommelier.

We went with the eight course tasting and grand wine matching. A great choice. The dishes were delicious little works of art - seemed a shame to eat them really - and the wines were perfectly matched.

To be totally honest, the service nudged out the food on this occasion. Don't get me wrong, the food was extraordinary, no question, but that little group of players made the evening particularly memorable.

And in a final touch as we were leaving, when Sylvain heard we were not staying in the hotel, he kindly offered the services of the hotel car to drive us back to our accommodation. We declined as we were happy with the short walk, but it was a considerate gesture nonetheless.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Littlescapes,
Thank you very much for your detailed review of your recent dining experience. We truly appreciate your feedback and are heartened to hear that your visit was so pleasant. I will pass your compliments along to the waitstaff. Looking foward to your next visit in the US.
Kind Regards
Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Breakfast buffet is great (little expensive $25) both really worth it service was great and was 1st class

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear JEKDES-NYC,
So happy to hear that your breakfast experience was so positive. We truly try to make every visit to Lacroix as memorable as possible. Thank you for taking the time to recommend us to others.
Regards
Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great neck,ny
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Greatest brunch ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I loved everything I ate. With at least 40 items from which to choose, you get a wonderful variety. Servers were also great

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear funalways75,
Thank you for the outstanding review. We are very pleased to see how much you enjoyed our establishment, food and most of all service... looking forward to your next visit!
Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry hill, nj
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We celebrated our 30th anniversary here and it was outstanding. Service, food, attention, all were exceptional. Could not have been better. We did the tasting with wine and it exceeded our expectations.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear mvyguy:
Thank you for your stellar review. I'm delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations. looking forward to your next visit!
Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lacroix at The Rittenhouse also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Lacroix at The Rittenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.