We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice brunch with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lacroix at The Rittenhouse

Lacroix at The Rittenhouse
210 W Rittenhouse Sq, Rittenhouse Hotel, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5726 (City Center West)
215-790-2533
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lacroix at The Rittenhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 3,741 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: 19th & Walnut
Transit: PHLASH
Description: Located in the prestigious Rittenhouse Hotel, gazing over downtown Philadelphia's most elegant square, Lacroix has become a landmark in its own right. Romantic and evocative, our dining room beckons with the luminous glow of candlelight. Indulge your palate in our world-class menu, composed of the freshest ingredients.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“nice brunch with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is for their Sunday brunch.
We made the reservation over the phone last week (opentable says everything is booked, but when we called, they are still able to accept our reservation)
It is located right across the dog park, and the hostess seats up by the window for a nice view.

There are several food stations in the dining area, the appetizer table has about 20 different dishes; small plates but very well made. I like various salad; the pork slider is also very nice. The raw bar is right beside it, not a big oyster fan, so only tried smoked fish and some cocktail shrimp, nothing to write home about. There is also a desert table with about 10-15 selections, all looks very nice and tastes good (only if we are not so full when it's time to try the deserts.).

The hot food section are in the kitchen; there are various meat stations (lamb, scallop sausage, glazed salmon, etc) and about 10 hot dishes like crispy duck (very tasty). The chocolate fountain and liquid nitrogen station (where they freeze some desert) are also there.

Over all, the appetizer, the desert are all top notch; the hot food is OK but not great. The service is very good, all the servers are very attentive and helpful. Not a brunch I will go every week due to the price, but definitely once in a while.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear au071,
Thank you for the feedback. We are disappointed that your entire experience was not fulfilled. I will pass your remarks, regarding the "Hot Food", along to the Chef. Looking forward to your next visit. Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    38
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lunch Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had lunch here on the night that we stayed at the Rittenhouse Hotel. The Lobster Roll was very good and the cheese plate had a variety of tastes that we enjoyed. The sangrias were tasty as well.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pampered on the Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Combining interesting food, impeccable service and excellent service in an intimate setting. Everything we had was good

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear RichPCal: Thank you for your review. It is true that Chef Cichon combines unusual and usual ingredients in a thoughtful manner to produce his cuisine. Looking forward to your next visit! Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Philadelphia Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We went to back to Lacroix while on a recent trip to Philadelphia. We had the 8 course tasting menu. It was very nicely presented and delicious. The chef did an outstanding job. The service was outstanding and each course was described after it was presented to us. Philadelphia wouldn't be Philadelphia without visiting Lacroix.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Jerrype,
We are happy you have chosen Lacroix during your recent visit to Philadelphia and glad that you enjoyed your tasting menu. Thank you very much for recommending us to others and thank you for taking the time to post your experience!
See you soon,
Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Food, Small Portions and Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed the food, however the portions were very small and expensive. We order five courses and when we were finished we were both still hungry. Doesn't make sense for a fine dining restuarant. When the server asked us how everything was we responded that althougth we enjoyed the food, we are still hungry. He replied, "we got that alot". I wouldn't return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Mr. William S.,
Thank you for your review.
At Lacroix, we are in constant pursuit of perfection and are already working on solutions that will prevent similar problems from occurring in the future. In fact, we have just change our Restaurant Menu layout. I would love to have you join me for a cocktail at the restaurant next time you are in town, so we can discuss further more how we can improve our customer service.
Please consider this sincere invitation.
Kind Regards
Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lacroix at The Rittenhouse also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Lacroix at The Rittenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.