We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of the best in Philadelphia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Angolo Ristorante Italiano

L'Angolo Ristorante Italiano
1415 W Porter St, Philadelphia, PA 19145-4432 (South Philadelphia)
215-389-4252
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 3,843 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: South Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still one of the best in Philadelphia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After my travels to Italy, I am always let down when eating Italian in this country.
Most likely you'll be eating American Italian food which is a far cry from authentic Italian.
L'Angolo is about the most authentic that you are going to get. Dishes from the Apulia region are prepared fresh daily with very nice specials as well. Most dishes are prepared on the grill, the kitchen is right in the open. Paolo, the chef does an excellent job. Davide, the owner is a charm. A big plus is that it is a BYOB, which is great. You are not getting ripped off for overpriced bottles. Kind of sad that Nino is not there any longer, he added so much character to L'Angolo. Doesn't feel the same without him. Still, an excellent little spot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“delicious - we were a party of six and everyone enjoyed their dinner - food was seasoned to perfection.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were a party of six - everthing was seasoned to perfection - so tasty - can't wait to go back - its been awhile since we ate there. why did we wait so long? DELICIOUS - small - but who carees!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Bella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

As we walked in the front door of this fairly nondescript restaurant in "real" South Philadelphia we were immediately greeted with a "Buena Sera!" We walked past and through the kitchen to two small rooms in the back. There was room for maybe 40 diners. So, we were squeezed into a "four top" between a table for two and a table seated with 8 diners. The fun never stopped.

Our wait staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The service was good throughout our meal. The food was very good - a wild boar ragu over papardelle, pasta agrodolce, and pasta melanzane (eggplant) were all excellent. The salads were very good - one with faro, cherry tomatoes, and (I think) house-made buratta and a roasted beet salad. It's like a lot of the small restaurants in Philly - BYOB. There's no corkage fee and the wait staff were great about being there when we were ready for more wine.

THIS is what I think of when I think "Italian restaurant."

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“This is a gem-Ottimo Pasto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The streets of South Philly are narrow and so is the restaurant. At first, I didn't know what to make of the restaurant as it appeared that I walked in through the kitchen. Once I entered the dining room with my family, we found a charming little gem of a restaurant. There are no more than a dozen tables and the ambiance is wonderful.
We started the meal with the grilled calamari. What a treat! You could actually taste the squid and not the breading or the oil. It's not breaded nor is it fried. It comes with a truly outstanding herb and garlic infused oil for added flavor. We also had the mushroom appetizer. What could be bad??? Freshly sauteed mushrooms in olive oil with fresh mozzarella melted over it.

The meal...MMMM, MMMM, MMMM, MMMM, MMMM! OK. I admit that I am Italian by appetite. This restaurant just confirms why. The meal was outstanding. My Pappardele was fresh and full of flavor. My son raved about his veal chop. The others had the goat meat filled raviloi. It was excellent and the sauce, even better!

We were full so we passed on dessert. Bring a bottle of your favorite wine. It's BYOB.

Even parking wasn't bad for south Philly! We were able to park on the same street as the restaurant.

It doesn't get any better!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It was truly a delightful surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We found L'Angelo through trip adviser. It's less than a mile from the Philadelphia sports complex so it was very convenient after a game. Food was delicious, fresh and presented nicely. Parking is difficult in the area so look for parking on Broad Street. This is a small restaurant with limited seating. If you are a large group I would make a reservation ahead of time. It is quite nice inside and not loud. The wait staff are helpful, upbeat and friendly. it is a BYOB which is also an advantage. There is no liquor store nearby. Dinner for two with appetizers, dessert and coffee was under $60

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Angolo Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to L'Angolo Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Angolo Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.