We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence never goes out of style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bec Fin - CLOSED

Le Bec Fin
1523 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-3001 (City Center West)
(215) 567-1000
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $40 - $120
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: On Walnut between 15th and 16th
Transit: PHLASH, Septa Bus, Regional Rail Suburban Station,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellence never goes out of style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Unfortunately Le Be Fin is now closed for renovations. It will open again in the fall as a less formal restaurant catering to today's dining public. It seems that customers are threatened by the massive chandeliers that would feel comfortable in Versailles. We opted for the tasting menu and were blown away by the whole experience. We have never been dissatisfied with the restaurant but this time it was possibly the best meal ever. The Risotto with white truffles had so much truffle that it was difficult to find the rice, I guess that they did not want to store the truffles for the summer since they were scheduled to close in a few days. I will shed a few tears for the end of an era and look forward the reopening under the same team.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    102
    36
    34
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What was the fuss?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I went here because I thought I would eat a fabulous French meal. The menu is limited and the portions are small. Even at $90 a person, I left there hungry and went to McD's to avoid going to be hungry. The reason it's not terrible in my review was because the staff was attentive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhorne, pa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Goodbye old friend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The restaurant still maintains its' beauty but that is the only thing that is still the same. Not only did they loose Chef George Perrier; the restaurant lost the feel of refinement. They took off the door to the kitchen therefore we could hear all the noise of the staff, etc calling out orders etc. The panache of the waiters lifting up the plate domes are gone, too. Most disappointingly, the food is no longer as well prepared as before. The pastry cart which we enjoyed picking & viewing what is offered is gone too. You may think you're going to Le Bec Fin but it is not the Le Bec Fin of days gone by.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Horrible Service - Not Worth the Price Tag”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We dined at Le Bar at Le Bec Fin. The table of two next to us had been seated at the same time and had finished their mains while we were still waiting on our appetizers. We asked the waitress where our food was, and she replied saying "I don't know, I am just the messenger. I just bring the food out when it's ready." Then we asked to speak to the manager, and some person behind the bar came up to us and claimed he was the manager (clearly he was not). We then got a hold of the real manager who said he would take care of us and offer us some complimentary snacks during our wait. Long story short - no one took care of us, we were treated horribly (and in a condescending way), and the price tag was absolutely not worth it. For such a restaurant that prides itself on high quality cuisine and service (and we have been to our fair share of those establishments), it failed miserably. I would not recommend this restaurant to people. If you want nice food, you are MUCH better off going to Vetry (tasting menu) or Bibou (very nice, small BYO French restaurant).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Elegant dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The presentation of every course is a delightful experience. The food is exquisite. Desserts to die for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bec Fin also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bec Fin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.