We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the line still” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bec Fin - CLOSED

Le Bec Fin
1523 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-3001 (City Center West)
(215) 567-1000
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $40 - $120
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: On Walnut between 15th and 16th
Transit: PHLASH, Septa Bus, Regional Rail Suburban Station,
margate, nj
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top of the line still”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went to le bec fin this past Friday for a family friend's 82nd birthday. I had been to this restaurant several times in it's prime when Georges Perrier was at the helm and really didn't have that kind of expectation, but I was really surprised how great it was! Service was friendly and detailed. Food was fabulous start to finish, and paired well with wines by the sommelier. The room is still beautiful, highlighted by those famous chandeliers. I really hope they can make it under Nick Fannucci, because it's great to have a special occasion place in Philadelphia like this has always been. To capture the magic of Perrier's Le Bec Fin just isn't possible-but a great goal to shoot for

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    36
    34
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointed with the new style & management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

While I embrace change and appreciate how competitive the restaurant industry is, I feel that Le Bec has gone from a dining experience that seemed effortless on staff, and now having bright but unseasoned staff. With such beautiful surroundings and the hopes for an elegant and special evening, Le Bec has taken a dive from where it used to be. The creativity of the food is commendable, but I preferred the old style consistency as well as the dessert cart filled with wonderful choices. The price of the meal wasn't commensurate with the experience, sadly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brunch at Le Bec Fin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This past Sunday we had brunch at Le Bec Fin in Philadelphia and it was very special. The service and attentiveness of the staff alone made it special, but the food knocked the ball out of the park. I've never had salmon that had been cured for as long as they do it. It was delicately layered between thin crepes and cream cheese. it cut like butter and had such a mild yet flavorful taste and finish. My wife's salad with shrimp was great, but her omelet was so well done. I'm not prone to over the top reviews, but if you are debating a lunch with business clients or a special evening with your honey, go here. And there is a fellow named LeRoy, originally from the Caribbean, who kept stopping by and attending to us. Just so friendly and made us feel very welcome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gastronomie Extraordinaire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of the absolute best lunches of my life was consumed at Le Bec Fin on a recent Saturday. Everything you would expect from such a fine dining establishment was present -- a beautiful, traditional salle a manger; professional, efficient and attentive service; and delicious, well-presented courses. But there were also numerous extra touches which turn all of those qualities into a truly memorable meal, which I will leave to the reader's imagination so as not to place an unreasonable burden upon the restaurant in future -- other than to say what a pleasure it was to have a pair of conversations with the incredibly personable owner (and former General Manager of The French Laundry), Nicolas Fanucci (an Italian surname, perhaps, but he is all French).

Since Michelin rightly concluded long ago that a star should be awarded based solely upon the quality of the food itself, allow me also to say that the sunchoke (Jerusalem artichoke) veloute was fabulous, the Hudson Valley foie gras surpassed most of what I've had throughout France, and the guinea hen was as moist, tender and flavorful as a poultry dish could possibly be. Hey, Philadelphia -- instead of going to a ballgame or a museum on a fine Saturday afternoon (or most any other time), consider Le Bec Fin for a dining event worth savoring for a long, long time to come.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Still a Vanguard of Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Recently I returned to Le Bec Fin after a long hiatus and was pleasantly surprised by the continued excellence that the new owners have maintained in both the reconfiguration of the restaurant and the new menu selections. Tinkering with a proven formula is always daring, and the new menus reflect the 'modern diner' and the selections demonstrate that. Top shelf from the caviar to the fois gras mousse'. Service was excellent and the bill, pricey as expected was easier to swallow given the high quality of the cuisine. Value alert: The ala carte menu in the quaint (even romantic) downstairs bar was delicious. Ask for Bradford, the bartender downstairs. His mixology skills are as first-rate as Le Bec itself.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bec Fin also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bec Fin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.