We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves that fourth bell!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bec Fin - CLOSED

Le Bec Fin
1523 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-3001 (City Center West)
(215) 567-1000
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $40 - $120
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: On Walnut between 15th and 16th
Transit: PHLASH, Septa Bus, Regional Rail Suburban Station,
Lisbom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Deserves that fourth bell!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Once in a lifetime experience! Presentation, taste, and outstanding service along with wine and bread palings made this lunch a fine memory. Locally sourced ingredients were highlighted by our servers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    102
    36
    34
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millsboro, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Everything was perfect....the food, the presentation, the atmosphere and the service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Friday evening was our third visit since Le Bec Fin completed the renovations and reopened under new owner and former French Laundry General Manager, Nicolas Fenucci. Chef Walter Abrams has introduced a wonderful tasting menu and our table of six could not have been more pleased with the selections and the beautiful presentation. The wine selections are excellent. A stop at the downstairs bar for a champagne or cocktail before dinner is a must, as the bar is very exquisite. The staff is warm and attentive. Definitely the place to go for fine dining, for a special occasion, an important business meeting, or if you are a foodie visitng Philadelphia.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Top shelf!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The place servings are impressive enough, but then the food! We had an exceptional meal. Service is impeccable. It is a very quiet atmosphere. We went with another couple, and it was so quiet it made us laugh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful Special Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were at LBF Friday night to celebrate my husband's bday (he doesn't like ppl to know it is his bday - likes a low profile) - he is truly a foodie and this would be more detailed if he were writing. Co-incidentally we had been trying to get a French Laundry reservation the previous week without success - Now, kudos to Chef Abrams and Mr Fanucci- no need to bother with trip to Napa. The eight-course tasting menu at LBF was outstanding with fresh twists on some familiar ingredients and on others I had never tried. Twas a magnificently prepared, well-paced meal - we dined for three hours but it truly did not feel that long - we ordered one of everything and shared so that we could taste all of the offerings. There is a new star and new life back at this Walnut Street address. Wishing them all the best - truly enjoyable, but my complaint it that it is overly and unnecessarily expensive so that I don't see a return visit in the near future. I feel that price could be less and a complimentary glass of champagne or wine or cocktail should be included. Dessert was skimpy too. Not sure why they need a pastry chef based upon what we were served. I love the wonderful new updated decor and spacious feel of the room; - very competent, warm and welcoming waitstaff but not obtrusive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valleyt Forge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have been to Le Bec Fin several times thru the years, usually celebrating a special occasion. We picked this restaurant because in the history of Philadelphia eateries it has ranked at or near #1 for more years than I can count. The last time we were there, we were disappointed. The place seemed tired; the menu was tired; the service was not up to usual standards; it just did not have the usual elegance we had come to appreciate.

Given that last experience, we didn't know what to expect now that it was under new ownership and a new chef. WOW, what a transformation !! The walls and decor were the same, but that was it. Everything of import was different. The seven course tasting menu, the service, the wine menu, all changed, all refreshed. Every course was a culinary perfection giving your taste buds a new experience with every new course.

Whether you're visiting Philadelphia for the first time or a long time resident, think of Le Bec Fin the next time you're celebrating a special occasion. You won't regret the decision even at a prix fixe of $150.pp

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bec Fin also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bec Fin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.