We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your not in Miami Muchacho” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma de Cuba

Alma de Cuba
1623 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)
215-988-1729
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alma de Cuba is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $100
Cuisines: Latin, International, Eclectic, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Between 16th and 17th
Transit: Take the Broad Street Line to Walnut-Locust Station. Walk 2.5 blocks West; The 42 Bus Route Runs on Walnut Street and Locust Street. 17th Street stop.
Sanford, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Your not in Miami Muchacho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This is my second experience here and I was just as impressed as I was the first. I sat at the bar so the service was great. He explained everything precisely. I had the tostones and the seared scallops which were served over a root vegetable "risotto " if you will. Not sure how to describe it except delicious . Don't expect your typical Cuban food here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    179
    50
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty food with good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My hotel recommended this Cuban place and I was very happy to be there.
Tried several kinds of Ceviche and very good.
Lechon Asado (roasted pork) was amazing and as good as the ones in Spain.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you are looking for upscale must visit eateries this has to be close to the top of the list in Philadelphia. Excellent Cuban themed food and service. A little crowded with small tables but the food and service compensate. Try the palm heart salad.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding pork dish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

All of my party of three enjoyed their dinners at Alma de Cuba. The menu is very interesting with a nice range of dishes for any taste. My dish, Lechon Asado, may have been the best pork dish I have ever had. The waitress, very smart in her white blazer and tie, carefully described it and it came as advertised. All of the food was excellent, as was the service. The only reason I have rated it a step below was the noise level. It was a bit high since it was very crowded. But, we could still carry on a conversation without too much repeating. I very much enjoyed my evening here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great cuban food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We had to wait for 45 min to get a table. Not a punishment since we could sample the mojito! Great start of an evening before having a chance to eat very lovely dishes. If you like something different with the atmosphere to go with, look no further.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Alma de Cuba also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Alma de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma de Cuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.