We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food Even Better Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penang Malaysian Cuisine

Penang Malaysian Cuisine
117 N 10th St., Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)
215-413-2531
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 3,780 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Center East
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food Even Better Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food is excellent! The prices were shocking...in a good way. I couldn't believe my eyes when my bill came and was under $30 for 2 appetizers and 2 (huge) entrees. Can't beat it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    47
    17
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Even the duck web was good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Great food quickly prepared at a great price. We went on a Sat night, so it was ridiculously busy, but we were seated in about 20 minutes and waited on very promptly. They had a great selection including more traditional fare and some unusual, like the duck web appetizer. The green curry was terrific, and not spicy (I would have liked it a touch hotter, but those I shared with like it tamer). I definitely recommend it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, PA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Good but busy and disorganized”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Don't expect to get what you ordered. Seems like they just can't get it right. BUT, what you do get will be good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Fast, delicious, not too pricey (apps are great here), good service all around, nice decor etc etc. Really great place in general, definitely go check it out.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Loved the food and service...overall great experience...Bathroom could have been cleaner but I could easily overlook that due to it being so crowded...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penang Malaysian Cuisine also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Penang Malaysian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penang Malaysian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.