We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat in China Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penang Malaysian Cuisine

Penang Malaysian Cuisine
117 N 10th St., Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)
215-413-2531
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 3,843 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Center East
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place to eat in China Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Mango Chicken is to die for! Hands down one of my very favorite places to eat in the city. But ask for a fork, the metal chopsticks can be tricky!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    50
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My family stumbled across this restaurant while walking around in Chinatown. I noticed the crowd, seemed like a good atmosphere. We had our very mature 8 yr old twins with us. We did have to wait a bit for a table but we expected that on a Saturday night. The restaurant itself is not huge but did not feel over-crowded. We were seated without menus so the waitress brought them to us. Then she reappeared in under 5 min. We had to explain to her this was our first visit & we were unfamilar with the menu selections. I asked her "What is good, popular & recommended?" Since the kids were with us, we declined anything that was spicy. Here's what we had:
Appetizer: Shrimp Puff- Deep fried minced shrimp wrapped with bacon - delish!
Soup - Clay Pot Noodles - Home style noodles w. vegetables, pork, shrimp & squid served in a clay pot.
Entree -Sizzling Seafood Combination Delight (Scallop, Shrimp & Squid)
Entree - SpareRibs Malaysian Style
Everything was delicious & tasted fairly authentic.
Sodas are served in can. Beer is bottled.
I would highly recommend this place & can't wait for a return visit!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“very authentic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Been to a couple of different Panang restaurant in the greater Philadelphia area. (there is one in Cherry Hill, NJ) and the most tasty item on the menu is the roti canai. it is a thoudand layer bread, eaten with chicken curry and I get craving for it all the time. All of their dishes are fairly authentic but some are gear toward western tastebuds. You do have to get to know the type of cusine they have before able to order well. They are situated in the center of chinatown and do a busy business. not much on the atmosphere but high on the quality of food scale. would recommend highly but be prepare to be adventurous and try it a few times before you figure out what are the dishes that works best for you. you will be hooked as most of us for the roti canai :-)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The food here is delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

A large attractive restaurant and usually crowded. We couldn't get in after the auto show. We were lucky to slip in here during the flower show at an off hour - 4pm. At various times during our meal, the line was out the door and into the street. The hostess and management were professional and our server was quietly efficient. The food we ordered was absolutely delicious. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I have loved this place for over a decade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The service is lightning fast. The food is dependably delicious and unique. The interior design is clever and comfortable. One of my very favorite restaurants in Philadelphia.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penang Malaysian Cuisine also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Penang Malaysian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penang Malaysian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.