We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smith & Wollensky - Philadelphia

Smith & Wollensky - Philadelphia
210 W Rittenhouse Sq, Rittenhouse Hotel, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)
215 545-1700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Smith & Wollensky - Philadelphia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #317 of 3,843 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $15 - $48
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: 19th and Walnut
Description: Refined luxury in Philadelphia’s iconic square. Overlooking the historic Rittenhouse Square Park planned by founding father William Penn, our Philadelphia restaurant offers a panoramic view of this picturesque center city landmark. The cozy warmth of polished wood, brass, whimsical antiques, and original art create a refined yet casual steakhouse experience throughout. The main bar draws locals and visiting celebrities alike.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I usually grab drinks and apps at the bar. Service is always amazing. Food is great too! I would go back here in a heartbeat.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    36
    27
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“BIG night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was recently taken to Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse in Philadelphia for an evening meal. This would be the best dining experience I have ever had in the US. I chose the rather large spice rubbed long bone rib eye for main and it was exceptional. Dry aged on the premises there was nothing to complain about.

However, the highlight of the night was the service. Our waiter was so passionate about his job, the restaurant, the food and the wine it was infectious. The more we asked the better he became, responding to our interest.

I would recommend this restaurant and definitely return on my next visit to Philadelphia.

And why did I title this review BIG night out? Well everything was big, the steak, the side dishes and Steve our waiter. There should be more like him!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Smacks of sharp practice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I had eaten here once before and found it expensive but fair for excellent steaks and good service. Ate here tonight and was offered the special of a recommended bottle of wine which gave you two filet mignons for the price of one. Wine was heavily sold and turned out to be unexceptional and when I got the bill turned out to cost $195.00! No indication of price on the special offer flyer and the waiter did not mention it either. I should have checked myself but didn't. When I raised my concerns when the bill arrived the manager was called who was prepared to take the salad and fries off the bill but no more. Bill for two steaks salad fries and a bottle of wine - $280.00. Be warned!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, excellent service, but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Food is consistently superb, steaks are memorable. They do like to upsell on just about everything - never left under $150 per person

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great service and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Smith and Wollensky is the best Steakhouse in the city. I have tried all of the others. We keep coming back here and are never disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith & Wollensky - Philadelphia also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Smith & Wollensky - Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smith & Wollensky - Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.