We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for jet-lag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eulogy Belgian Tavern

Eulogy Belgian Tavern
136 Chestnut St, Near 2nd and Chestnut Street Intersection, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3009 (City Center East)
+1 215-413-1918
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eulogy Belgian Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #135 of 3,484 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $21
Cuisines: French, American, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Second
Transit: The Market/Frankford Subway stops at Second and Market Streets for an easy one block walk to the restaurant. Septa provides a 42 & 21 bus that stops at Second & Chestnut Streets. Philly Phlash also tours all key Philadelphia locations & stops near the restaurant at Third & Chestnut Streets.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for jet-lag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived in Philadelphia late afternoon and after a brisk longish walk around the strike closed local public buildings headed for the Eulogy. It did not disappoint; a lively atmosphere in the early evening, a great selection of beer on tap, fast efficient service and great mussels; the perfect stimulus after a flight from Europe. A brisk walk back to the hotel and a good nights sleep!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    95
    24
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“For Big Belgiums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is such a great place for friends or family and everyone in between. If going, be sure to try a mussel dish. I had the Hoegaarden variety and was pleased, but I would try the traditional version next time. Really great atmosphere and the owner or PR person was extraordinary getting us a table in a packed restaurant/bar.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beer Lovers Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

So many beers your head could explode trying to make your decision. Excellent choise of Belgian beers plus what seems like every other beer brewed on the planet. The food was supurb. The duck or meatballs for starters. The mussels were excellent. And the Frietjes were out of this world. Our server was friendly and attentive and very knowledgeable. The place is a little small but once seated we were very comfortable. One of our party tried their cheesesteak and wne offered a bite I quickly accepted. The sweetest carmalized onions I've ever tasted. Parked toward Penns Landing with little problem and had a pleasent block and a half walk to our destination. Be careful about geting carried away with all your beer choises cause you can rack up quite a bill but food prices were very reasonabe for what you get. If your a beer lover who enjoys good food to go with it it's a no brainer. Try it you'll like it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beer and Mussels The Best Choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Eulogy was suggested by a friend of my husband's. It's a very small building dating back to the 1830's. From their website, I expected something a little more grand. However, I enjoyed the history of it still being there and being used. There are 2 floors. We were seated downstairs and didn't get to see how large the upstairs was. They have over 300 beers to choose from and a good sized menu. I had a crab cake sandwich which was tasty. My husband had a steak sandwich which he said was "okay". The highlight was our appetizer, Moules Dijon, which were mussels in a Dijon cream sauce and that was delicious!! We even dipped our french fries in the sauce!

Eulogy is nothing fancy, but it does have its own charm. It's worth a stop for a beer and mussels.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best place to go before a concert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

For the best beer selection in Philly...this is your spot! We stop there and eat dinner and have a few drinks before heading to concerts in Camden via the ferry. Great range of beers...over 300 different frosty brews. Seating can be tight so get there early. The Frietjes are cooked perfectly with a slight crunch and the sauce is a perfect compliment.

If you are a beer drinker....this is your spot!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eulogy Belgian Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Eulogy Belgian Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eulogy Belgian Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.