We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! All Stars on Deck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Ole

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Ole
147 N 3rd St, Philadelphia, PA 19106
215-627-2140
Improve this listing
Ranked #250 of 3,720 restaurants in Philadelphia
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wow! All Stars on Deck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stumbled across this place while out searching for some historical Philly sites. The staff were tremendous and lived up to the cities reputation of brotherly (sisterly in this case) love. I can't say enough about how they have their act together here. I would move to Philly just to be around a breakfast place like Café Ole. The food was great and reasonably priced and the coffee was very good. I asked the owner what she would recommend for breakfast and she suggested the shakshuka. Her comment was "why order an omelet, you can get an omelet anywhere". Holy Kapow! The shakshuka was far too good for words and it is highly recommended. Not often we throw out so many stars but this place is worthy of all of them. It is a full star stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    6
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great little breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It's a little small (people with strollers beware) but the outside seating is nice. Food is WONDERFUL and the service was very delightful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Located 2 blocks from Independence Hall attraction. Good food, not a greasy spoon, and lots of locals. Good find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Isle City, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Coffee, breakfast, ahhhhh.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

There are so many places where you can grab a cuppa Joe and go, go, go. But when you find a place like this, it's just...ahhhh. Lovely tree-lined sidewalk setting surrounded by boutiques, galleries and one-of-a-kind shops. The biggest, loveliest cup of coffee (seriously, a giant decorative mug) that is deeelish. We ordered a breakfast wrap (big) and a feta and spinach omelet (which came with a fluffy roll and tasty salad) on a real dish with real silverware! It was so appealing to the eyes I almost took a picture, but it was not to be. Too tempting to the eyes, so I had to immediately dig in. Wow. Fresh and fantastic. Add to that, that everyone working there is so friendly and warm. It seems to be a big local hangout - lots of people knew each other's names going in and out - but we felt at home and so satisfied. Forget the chain coffee joint a block away. Experience charming old city right here. What a find!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast to start the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We happened to come to this little shop by wandering around one morning. They serve their coffees in large mugs and ofer a very nice variety if breakfast options. Our daughter enjoyed a very fresh and tasty waffle while my husband and I enjoyed a delicious egg wrap with turkey sausage. Cute little shop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ole also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Cafe Ole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Ole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.