We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Praticality, value, and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #15 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Praticality, value, and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Included breakfast is mostly continental, plus a waffle iron and a microwaveable sandwich, nothing much on the low carb front.

“Full size” microwave and fridge, oversized sink, seem like overkills for such smallish units, more a test of the compact utilitarian European hotel room design.

Bathrooms are shower stall only, with smallish sliding door that, although new, seemed somewhat cheap and rickety. Amenities are limited, small soap bar and lotion. Shampoo and body wash (no conditioner) are dispensed from permanently mounted dispensers in the shower. I realize that the showers in any hotel room are used by countless prior guests, but the YMCA style mounted dispensers just seem to unnecessarily remind a guest of that fact.

The bed was comfortable but the pillows are unusable, what I refer to as “sofa cushion” pillows, so firm and large that using them means sleeping with your head cocked upward toward the ceiling all night.

In short, I would trade the oversized kitchen equipment for an upgraded bathroom experience and comfortable pillows.

Very friendly staff remembered my name, hours later.

Parking is unassociated, and not discounted for hotel guests. $40 per day with in and out privileges.

Location is a huge value add.

This is a fine hotel, it’s a compact well equipped mid tier price range hotel, with the added benefit of being brand new, my critique here is meant to explain why it didn’t receive a 5 out of 5.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    55
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
38
4
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This is by far my new favorite Hilton property! I love how eclectic and modern the home 2 is and the location downtown is perfect! The only thing was that my room was pretty dusty... But otherwise everything was great! I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. The staff was super friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable, and the location was perfect. We could easily walk to all nearby tourist attractions - Old City, Art Museum, shopping, dining, and the many interesting city squares. Reading Terminal Market was right across the street and we enjoyed eating and roaming about there. Market East Station was only two blocks away and we were able to catch a train to the airport and avoid another scary cab ride. The hotel breakfast buffet was outstanding offering fruit, oatmeal, waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, juices, bagels, bread, coffee, yogurt, etc. The room itself was efficient and fairly well laid out. The queen size bed was comfortable but the hide a bed wasn't great. We enjoyed having the small kitchen for storing and reheating leftovers. My only complaint is that the air conditioning didn't do a very good job keeping the room at a constant temperature. It blasted cold air directly onto the bed (brr!) but the other end of the room (where the thermostat was) never seemed to cool down much.
All in all, I enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was street side on the third floor so there was quite a bit of street noise. Maybe higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, New Jersey
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We often stay at the Hilton Garden Inn-Philadelphia Convention Center. We wanted to try this brand-new property, which I think used to be a parking lot before the redevelopment.

Everything is a little bit simpler and plainer than higher-level Hilton brands, but it's a comfortable hotel. The rooms are a bit narrow, but we had a dedicated sitting area with a couch and coffee table. There are no window curtains, only a custom-designed pair of white and opaque window shades, which worked well. In-room WiFi is free. There's an oval table that rolls out so you can sit down and eat dinner like a human being, even though you're in your room.

This seems to be an "extended-stay" brand. The room included a spanking-new microwave over a kitchen sink with disposall, a medium-sized refrigerator and separately-doored freezer, a full set of china, stainless steel table silver, a toaster, a cutting board and a paring knife,and ... a dishwasher! The bathroom mirror had a sticker describing the less-frequent full-housekeeping visits, and how to call for extra housekeeping.

The bathroom had a huge shower stall (no tub), with a nice showerhead and sliding glass doors. We had to pay $10 extra for a King Bed.

The included breakfast in the lobby has no grill, but includes the familiar make-your-own Hilton waffle iron. There are pre-assembled egg and swine sandwiches, with microwaves to heat them. I had the excellent oatmeal from a heated soup-type pot. There were sweet pastries and many breads to toast in the industrial toaster. The lobby includes 24-hour coffee and tea.

The clothes closet is a bit small, and has only a curtain closure. There's a half-curtain to partly hide the bed if you have a meeting in your living-room alcove. The room has only one window, which overlooks a parking garage. The air conditioner is very close to the bed, and little too noisy for a brand new unit.

But on the whole, it was a very comfortable stay for a single night. Having traveled on business, this would be really sweet for a whole week. I wonder if they have weekly rates? It was a little pricey for a single night ($192.)

Room Tip: Our room was quiet even though near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and clean. The staff provided great service and the breakfast was fresh and delicious. We stay at a variety of Hilton properties and we have decided this was the best. Great value for everything thats included

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This new hotel might be a good choice if you are going to the Convention Center or want to visit the Reading Market, both a block away. The price was reasonable for Philadelphia and the customer service was generally very good. It's also a good choice if you are staying for a few days; the in-room frig, microwave, and sink counter would be handy. Plenty of plugs for powering up electronics and there was an IHome clock/radio. And, I just admire any big city hotel that permits dogs.

So, why the average rating? Well, for a Hilton family hotel, I found some things lacking. First, the decorating scheme is "modern tacky". Don't get me wrong, I like a current, efficient look, but this just seemed tacky, sterile and not very functional. The bed and pillows were also not up to HIlton standards, there were no water bottles for purchase or for free in the room (and yes I'm a frequent Diamond Hilton customer), and the room was quite narrow. The bathroom was small and functional with a walk-in shower that didn't have wall tiles but rather a hard plastic wall encasement. Shower head and pressure were good. The hotel lobby is open and bright (maybe even too bright) with no bar or restaurant. Breakfast is free, but the food offerings were quite limited including very little fruit. When I asked if there were any bananas, the food attendant said they don't carry them ever. Hmmm. Would I come back? Bed quality is so important that the answer is probably "no", but I wish this new line for Hilton well.

Room Tip: Higher floors will avoid any early morning traffic noise. Otherwise, it probably doesn't matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very clean, brand new accommodations. Liked the walk in shower instead of a tub with shower. Located right across from the Reading Market and close to historical sites. It was easy to walk to my destination. Also, the pantry gave you an opportunity to purchase a TV dinner if you didn't want to go out to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center

Address: 1200 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Chinatown , City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eat, sleep, relax and work at the Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia – Convention Center, PA hotel and enjoy the next best thing to being at home. The studio suite comprises one large room while the one bedroom suite offers the flexibility of extra space, a separate living area and private bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.