We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Salmon Sushi

Fat Salmon Sushi
719 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102
215-928-8881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #386 of 3,843 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top-notch sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Our family (all adults) thought the sushi was the best they ever had. Service was fine and prompt. The only criticism is our table was in the back alcove which afforded privacy but didn't give us the ambiance of the restaurant. The first table we were directed to was worse (it was across the aisle from our final table) but 2 of us were facing the bathrooms and back part of the server's area. Be sure to ask to sit out front.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
“I was one happy FAT Salmon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This place was amaze-balls! The Naked Tuna appetizer with pico changed my life. The Tuna sandwich was awesome and the Vampire roll was a sweet surprise. I want to go back NOW!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“As their name..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fat salmon... Their salmon melts in your mouth.. My friends and I ordered Sashimi for two. The portion was awesome and we were stuffed!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“best sushi/value in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

by far, I have been a fan for a long time, when they were still at spruce st. it is really good sushi, great variety, but not too much. service can take long (sometimes for no apparent reason), but it is always worth the wait!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Killer deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This place is a killer deal. Downtown Philly. It’s got some style but is mostly casual. I was there right at opening on a Sunday evening, and was second in a line of three –t he hostess took forever to get us seated – dealing with phone calls and such – the girl behind me threw a lot of attitude but I could also tell she comes there a lot. Service was a little distant and slow but killer deal! I got an appetizer that merged sushi with ceviche – delicious! And a great roll. Cheap wine too. I would come here ALL THE TIME if I lived in Philly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Salmon Sushi also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Fat Salmon Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Salmon Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.